System Self Diagnostic and Fault Prevention Favorites.

Hester

Equipment Failure Diagnostics and Fault Prevention via the PLC:
What are your favorite troubleshooting and Fault Prevention routines that you build into your PLC code?

I’m new and know very little about PLC programming, so while I come up to speed, would the guru’s give me a little latitude, because I admit upfront I know very little, and could use your help. My background is electronics hardware with some VB, VBA, C++, and OOP exposure. But I do not consider myself a very good programmer – I only have the desire to be better. BTW, I love this site. It is so helpful. Thanks!

I’m looking for diagnostic / fault prevention ideas such as:
Photo Eye Make and Break Logic:
http://www.mrplc.com/kb/index.php?page=index_v2&id=15&c=12
or Best Practices such as “Industrial Safety Control” by Jim Rowell:
http://www.mrplc.com/kb/index.php?page=index_v2&id=44&c=38

This article link provided by dandrade is good but is more academic than my current needs.
http://www.viverautomacao.net/Anexos/fault.pdf

Any messaging best practices would be appreciated too.

Thanks guys for the help.

Here the most common way to detect problems in motor starter and linear piston .
In the first sample, the No contact of the starter is connected in serial to the overload NC contact.So if the OverLoad have the problem
or starter fault can be detected.
Also if someone start the motor directly from the starter.
In the secound sample,If both of the sensors is on=Fault,
If the valve commended but the piston didnot reached the front sensor=
fault.
If the valve truned off but didnot reached the rear sensor=fault.
Also if someone operated the valve manually=fault.
I hope I gave you some direction.
BTW
If one of the faults appear the fault bit 210.00 come on.

fault.jpg

Good Topic!...

I'm a big fan of using 'self-diagnostics' logic. There's no excuse for 'ignorant' machines... :D

Here's a few off the top of my head.