You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 13th, 2019, 10:25 AM   #1
awaege
Member
United States

awaege is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Appleton WI
Posts: 10
FT View Dynamic Tag Setting

So I am currently trying to create a data-viewer within FT View. I need the operator to be able to select two different datasets from a list of about 15 that are stored in a UDT in the PLC.

The UDT has the following structure:

UDT[X].Dataset[Y]

In this case the UDT has 5 instances allowing for a history of 5 sequences to be viewed from. There are about 15 different "datasets" within each UDT and about 90 data points within each dataset. I currently have the ability to hardcode in the "Y" parameter of this structure to my graphic objects. However I'm a bit unsure about how to handle the rest.

I think using a parameter file with HMI tags being used as placeholders for the other parts might work but I've never seen that done and am not sure if it's possible.

Does anyone have any experience in doing this or something similar?

I've worked with other software (much better than FT view) that makes this type of thing very easy, but as always Rockwell remains stuck in the 90's with software development ease.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2019, 12:08 PM   #2
ohnedich6
Member
United States

ohnedich6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Midlands SC
Posts: 59
awaege,

Take a look at Rockwell's Knowledgebase Article 59160. This article has examples on how to do parameter passing. Hopefully this will get you pointed in the direction you are wanting.

Fyi, you do not need to make make parameter files, you can simply use a parameter list. This will keep you from having to painstakingly create numerous parameter files.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT View SE V10- Distributed No HMI tag import or export? Tanquen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 14th, 2018 09:40 AM
Unable to install FT View Machine Edition abyvarghes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 May 24th, 2016 03:47 PM
Ft View SE Button issue NDeangiver LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 February 2nd, 2016 06:38 AM
FT View Studio ME Offline Tag File steve-earl LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 2nd, 2013 02:50 PM
int tag array in ft view houspan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 December 29th, 2010 11:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.


.