You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 23rd, 2011, 11:43 AM   #1
ltrail
Member
United States

ltrail is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Siemens S7 225 PLC Internet Module

I own a Siemens S7 225 PLC and its internet module. The internet module did not come equipped to handle the TCIP protocol. Does anyone know of a 3rd Party internet module that would be adaptable to the S7 225? Maybe I must purchase a used S7 higher series or more modern one. Thank You.
__________________
Siemens S7 200 Series Student
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2011, 09:04 AM   #2
dchartier
Member
Canada

dchartier is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltrail View Post
I own a Siemens S7 225 PLC and its internet module. The internet module did not come equipped to handle the TCIP protocol. Does anyone know of a 3rd Party internet module that would be adaptable to the S7 225? Maybe I must purchase a used S7 higher series or more modern one. Thank You.

Hello Itrail;
The information you provide poses more questions than your post.

First, there is no CPU 225 in the S7-200 family. There was a CPU 215, but this model was discontinued over 5 years ago. Please provide the full part number of the model you are working with.

Second, where do you find the the CP 243-1 IT does not support TCP/IP?
Here is some information on this communication module from the S7-200 System manual:
Functions
The (CP 243--1 IT) Internet module offers the following functions:
- S7 Communication is based on TCP/IP
- IT communication
- Configuration
- Watchdog timer
- Ability of preset MAC addresses (48--bit value) to be addressed

Please provide more information on your problems.

Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2011, 01:01 PM   #3
ltrail
Member
United States

ltrail is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Siemens S7 224 PLC

I apologize for mis-typing the PLC model. It should have been identified as S7 224. I've owned the unit since at least 2003. The communication module is just as old. My CP 243-IT manual describes only SMTP, FTP, AND HTTP; not TCIP. TCIP had just become the new protocol when I purchased the PLC and Siemens said that they doubted they would reconfigure the 200 series to include TCIP. Before my internet provider changed over to TCIP, I was actually able to modify and visit the remote location that housed the PLC via internet. But then my internet provider switched over to TCIP and left me stranded. I became frustrated and set the plc aside for these many years and made other house improvements at the remote location, instead. Since the newer CP-243-1 IT now have the TCIP protocol, I'll pursue it. Thanks.
__________________
Siemens S7 200 Series Student
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2011, 03:20 PM   #4
dchartier
Member
Canada

dchartier is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,539
Hello itrail;
I feel there might be compatibility issues between your "old" CPU and a new CP 243-1 IT module. The one in use now (6GK7243-1EX01-0XE0) was released in 2008; see the following link to the product page:
http://support.automation.siemens.co...ew/en/39955018

For information on your particular CPU model, use the same product page navigation to locate the roight part number. For example, if you had a model:
6ES7214-1AD21-0XB0, CPU 224, DC PS, 14DI DC/10DO DC
then this is the page you would have looked for:
http://support.automation.siemens.co...iew/en/4067238
You would see that this model is now discontinued, so it,s capoacity for accepting newer CPs would be doubtful.
Use the "Display product List" link on the top of the product page to locate your model of CPU.

Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2011, 12:55 PM   #5
ltrail
Member
United States

ltrail is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
I'll be looking for a Compatible S7 200 PLC

I will have to investigate this further next time that I'm at our remote location. Maybe I can find a used S7 of proper vintage to match the more modern CP 243-1 IT. Thank you for the info.
__________________
Siemens S7 200 Series Student
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens or Omron? Gromit LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 November 14th, 2017 09:44 AM
siemens s7 - gsm module interface itsmishal LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 February 20th, 2008 11:34 PM
Transfer Data From Siemens PLC to AB PLC Danocane LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 September 7th, 2007 06:29 AM
Getting Siemens PLC Pricing Info on the Internet David Torrens LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 November 7th, 2004 04:39 AM
profibus network between Siemens S5 and S7 PLC Leonardo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 25th, 2002 09:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


.