simple logic test

JohnRatHolten

Hey All,

I'm looking for a simple "can this guy read logic or not" kind of test.

Here's the scenario;

I'm the "controls" guy in a manufacturing facility maintenance shop,
I'm kind of the lead sparky (I use to take offense to that term, but hey,
it is what it is, I'm not an EE, and I don't get to spend all my time programming,
but I have been working around controls for over 25 years, and think
(hope) I know a little bit).

Seems like every few months the maintenance manager comes through
the shop, giving some prospective "new guy" a tour, and inevitably they stop
by my workbench for an introduction...... and of course, he knows all about
PLC's and stuff.....

I thought it would be interesting to have some sort of simple logic diagram,
maybe just 8 or 10 rungs of basic binary ladder functions (no FB's or math
so it would be applicable to any programming language), but involved enough
that it makes you think......

I could hand the guy this drawing and say,
"okay, if you enable input 1, what happens"?

Can the guy read logic or not?

I started to make something up, but I have a hard time being objective about it,
I wrote it, so I know how it works, but is it meaningful?

Anybody out there got anything like this?

Regards
JohnR

I don't have anything special but I have been known to ask the question what is x = x + 1? Usually if they have any programming skills whatsoever they can answer this quickly. If you get the blank stare or "what do you mean" they haven't programmed before. Just my opinion.

There are plenty of PLC logic problem examples that you could use. It might be better to use part of a typical program that is actually running in your plant, for example the PLC rungs that control a Forward-Reverse motor, or a conveyor with several interlocks. In other words, something that he should know and should be able to answer after a minute studying the logic.