RSnetworx issues

fuzzydiode

I am a beginner with RSnetworks but have managed to register various devices and config the scanner (using Micrologix 1500 PLC). The problem I am having is the RSnetworx seems to forget the EDS files if I restart the program. It says the devices are not on the network and if I re-register them it is OK until I restart RSnetworx again. The devices it forgets are non-AB parts and are still functioning on the network even though RSnetworxs can't seem to find them. I am not sure if I should just ignore this or what. The one thing I was thinking is I don't have full administrator rights and maybe RSnetworx cant save something.

Anybody ever seen anything like this?

RP

Let's expand on what you mean by "forgets".

Start with the offline *.DNT file. When you open it up with RSNetworx, are the "forgotten" devices still in the project ?

If they are still in the project, does the software give you a "this device is not registered" message ? If that is the case, then there is something wrong with the EDS registration process, which does write an entry to the Windows Registry.

Next let's address your statement that "It says the devices are not on the network". That message can show up in Online mode, when you browse the DeviceNet but the software cannot identify on the network the devices that are in the offline project file.

This can happen when the devices are actually disconnected from the network, or when there are noise or cabling problems on the network. It can also happen with some devices that can only maintain one "connection" at a time; you lose the ability to send them explicit messages (configuration and monitoring) once you start sending them I/O messages.

What precisely are the 3rd party devices you're using ?