Moeller XC201 PLC to XV442 HMI via CANOpen

renns

Greetings! I'm playing with a Moeller XC201 PLC, and am trying to sort out communications via CANOpen with a Moeller XV442 HMI, and am not having any luck. I'm new to this type of network communications, so I'm wondering if someone can advise if I've missed something obvious.

PLC
  • Programmed via Xsoft (CoDeSys)
  • in PLC Config, I right-clicked on the tree, and added CANMaster, Node ID 1, auto-start. Various CANopen libraries are automatically added to the resources tree at this point.
  • Under Global Variables, created two new categories, called Network_Transmit and Network_Receive.
  • Network_Transmit is configured as Write, Cyclic, Transmit on Change, COB_ID=250.
  • Network_Receive is configured as Read, Request on bootup, COB-ID=200.
  • Under the Network_Transmit category, I've declared a BYTE variable "PLC_Inputs", which I'm attempting to send to the HMI.
  • Under the Network_Receive category, I've declared a BYTE variable "TestByte", to be received from the HMI.

HMI
  • Programmed via Galileo.
  • Under 'Select PLC' page in Config menu, I've selected 'CAN Open - polling', as it seems the best fit. Info pages says it's configured for CANOpen Slave, SDO Polling, 4 bytes (DWord) memory alignment.
  • Under 'Tags', a SendByte and ReceiveByte tag were created.
  • SendByte tag address format is "Index %d,Sub %d.%d". It's been set to 200.0.0, in the hopes the first number is the COB-ID to match the Receive on PLC end. There's no mention of COB-ID in the Galileo software, so I'm grasping at straws here...
  • ReceiveByte tag address is set to 250.0.0 for same reason as above.

When programs sent to PLC and HMI, I can see the CAN led on the HMI flicker at about 1 Hz, which seems to indicate something is happening, but no data is transferred, and HMI indicates 'Communications Error' with SendByte address.