Download prog from Powerflex40 with 1203

CincyDutch

Hi Guys!

First of all let me tell you that I am not a programmer or anything close to it.
I know the little things I know because of PLCtalk, youtube google etc.

We have some Powerflex drives on devicenet. I want to download the programs and save them with a AB 1203 USB converter.
The powerflex 4's were easy. But for some reason, the converter doesnt recognize the drive.

Any pointers?
Thanks!!(y)

I use connected component workbench.
But the 1203 blinks red and I cant get the driver in RSlinks to "find" the drive.

Or should I use a regular Ethernet cable instead?

We use drive executive and drive explorer to get the drive parameters / write the parameters.
I do not believe that what you have will work, I could be wrong.
I would call your local rep and see what he says.

I am also not sure if these programs will work with power flex 4.
james

Last edited:
I do not believe that what you have will work, I could be wrong.
I use CCW alll the time to backup PF40 drive parameters, I do a print-to-pdf. Though I am usually connecting through a 22-COMM-E, I would have to imagine that a 22-COMM-D would also work, it is a communications module after all...

I am also not sure if these programs will work with power flex 4.
I am interested in knowing how one would be able to connect to a PF4....? Are there comms modules that you can add to a 4?

Thanks for letting me know that ccw will work with power flex 40.
pf4 was before pf40, so I do not know the answer on that one.
I am also referring to the drive software working with pf4 models.
I would call your ab rep for help.

james

I am interested in knowing how one would be able to connect to a PF4....? Are there comms modules that you can add to a 4?

Ha! Answered my own question... According to this Rockwell UM (page 7), you use a 22-XCOMM-DC-BASE to connect to a PF4 using the DSI port. You can add Ethernet, DeviceNet, ControlNet, etc. modules. Never knew it...