You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 14th, 2017, 01:32 PM   #1
Marcosbelgo
Member
Brazil

Marcosbelgo is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Belo Horizonte
Posts: 32
RS-232 - Ethernet/ip CONVERTER to Allen Bradley

Good Afternoon colleagues!

I need to do data acquisition for my MICROLOGIX 1200 but, I already using channel 0 to communicate with HMI and MICROLOGIX 1200 only have one port. I will not use a NET-ENI because this is almost the same price of a new CLP. So, I thinking to use a simple RS-232 - ETHERNET converter to put all in a switch. My question is:
Is the converter independent of protocol? will it convert any protocol since it is rs232? I am searching for RS232 converter and found many cheap options.

What do you think aboult this solution? Anybody know any other solution?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 01:37 PM   #2
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 554
I have used this to program on Channel 0 at the same time that an HMI was connected:

https://www.digi.com/products/serial...gioneiapfamily
__________________
Freelance Automation Programmer
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 01:42 PM   #3
Marcosbelgo
Member
Brazil

Marcosbelgo is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Belo Horizonte
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigmadelta View Post
I have used this to program on Channel 0 at the same time that an HMI was connected:

https://www.digi.com/products/serial...gioneiapfamily

How much??? The problem will be find this in brazil......
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 02:03 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,417
Quote:
found many cheap options.
The problem is that the general-purpose devices don't understand the DF1 protocol that the MicroLogix speaks, so they don't have any way to distinguish data from the serial side (the replies to DF1 commands) and determien which Ethernet host should get it.

The Digi One IAP knows about DF1 transaction identifiers, so it knows how to make sure that Ethernet Host 1 gets the serial reply to the packet that came from Ethernet Host 1, rather than just giving it the next reply out of the controller.

These are inexpensive devices, so comparing their relative costs is not very instructive. You have a function you need to perform, and it costs money to do it right.

Digi International has at least six retailers who serve Brazil.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 02:19 PM   #5
jimtech67
Member
United States

jimtech67 is offline
 
jimtech67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 294
i have used the Digi One IAP (p/n 700017770)
Works good and easy setup
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 02:23 PM   #6
Helliana
Member
United States

Helliana is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 553
I would price replacing the 1200 with a Micrologix 1100 or Micrologix 1400. The cost isn't much higher than most converters, you don't have to worry about overloading the slow serial connection with all the ethernet connections, the conversion is pretty simple since Logix500 does most of the work for you, and you gain the ability to do online edits.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 03:17 PM   #7
KuulKuum
Member
United States

KuulKuum is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helliana View Post
I would price replacing the 1200 with a Micrologix 1100 or Micrologix 1400. The cost isn't much higher than most converters, you don't have to worry about overloading the slow serial connection with all the ethernet connections, the conversion is pretty simple since Logix500 does most of the work for you, and you gain the ability to do online edits.
I would have to agree with Helliana...
The Digi converter is ~$500 and the latest quote I received from RA rep. for a MicroLogix 1400 was ~$700.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 09:37 PM   #8
Marcosbelgo
Member
Brazil

Marcosbelgo is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Belo Horizonte
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
The problem is that the general-purpose devices don't understand the DF1 protocol that the MicroLogix speaks, so they don't have any way to distinguish data from the serial side (the replies to DF1 commands) and determien which Ethernet host should get it.

The Digi One IAP knows about DF1 transaction identifiers, so it knows how to make sure that Ethernet Host 1 gets the serial reply to the packet that came from Ethernet Host 1, rather than just giving it the next reply out of the controller.

These are inexpensive devices, so comparing their relative costs is not very instructive. You have a function you need to perform, and it costs money to do it right.

Digi International has at least six retailers who serve Brazil.
Thanks Ken,

The DIGI is very expansive, it is almost same cost of NET ENI. So, I were thinking: is it possible read PLC registers throug the HMI (IX-T5F-2 from the Altus)? HMI have two serial ports, where one I am using to comunicate with CLP, and one ethernet port. The HMI have all Allen Bradley drivers protocols and is possible configure each port with one driver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helliana View Post
I would price replacing the 1200 with a Micrologix 1100 or Micrologix 1400. The cost isn't much higher than most converters, you don't have to worry about overloading the slow serial connection with all the ethernet connections, the conversion is pretty simple since Logix500 does most of the work for you, and you gain the ability to do online edits.
Hi Helliana,
This change is impossible for me now. We finished upgrade machines, and now, I need to measure my gain. I am using labview for this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KuulKuum View Post
I would have to agree with Helliana...
The Digi converter is ~$500 and the latest quote I received from RA rep. for a MicroLogix 1400 was ~$700.
Hi KuulKuum,
In Brazil, it is much more expensive

Last edited by Marcosbelgo; November 14th, 2017 at 09:42 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2017, 11:55 AM   #9
Marcosbelgo
Member
Brazil

Marcosbelgo is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Belo Horizonte
Posts: 32
USD 1.319,63 one DIGI AIP, much more expensive than NET-ENI. Why do you use this?????? A NET-ENI with one switch is much more cheap.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2017, 12:17 PM   #10
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 554
In the USA I saw prices just more than $500.00.
__________________
Freelance Automation Programmer
  Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2017, 12:49 PM   #11
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,417
I'm just explaining why your money would be wasted entirely on a general-purpose Ethernet/RS232 converter. If your budget is insufficient to fulfill the project requirements, there is no technical solution that I can suggest.

The 1761-NET-ENI was discontinued from production earlier this year. The Digi One IAP is a better product, and the RTA Automation 515RTAENI-N34 is another good substitute.

I do not use those Altus/Beijer HMI screens and cannot tell you if their drivers or data logging or data collection features will work for your purposes.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
allen bradley 1756 enbt v3.9 to v4.7 larry austin LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 9th, 2012 12:57 PM
Rockwell Allen Bradley Programming Software, RSLogix 5, RSLogix 500, RS Linx, RSLogix vvcd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 September 24th, 2009 10:04 PM
Can't connect Allen Bradley to Telemecanique Madahbee LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 August 13th, 2008 08:27 AM
Rs 232 / Tcpip Converter mahdi_rtt LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 November 24th, 2004 07:55 PM
Wincc 6.0 and Allen Bradley PKTX 1784. nistam LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 31st, 2004 10:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.


.