You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 11th, 2009, 09:04 AM   #1
smohamed
Member
Canada

smohamed is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: ON
Posts: 108
FT View SE Version

Morning everyone,

I've been doing some research in terms of a version of FT that we need to run a stand-alone application. Here is our current setup:

One (1) FactoryTalk View SE Server running an application, with a ViewNode running FT SE Client. The Server is interacting with a SLC 5/05 over Ethernet. What the plan is, to take the server down for maintenance. When doing this however, the Client (Viewnode) will go down as well.

We are looking to install a laptop to be a stand-alone machine. From what I can read on AB's website, is that we need FT View SE "Station" to run the SCADA on a stand-alone computer to interact with the PLC via Ethernet. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2009, 10:06 AM   #2
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,466
FTView Station is basically just a combined package of FTView Server and Client, that run on the same box. There are minor differences, but any FTView application will run on Station with almost no modification.

Back up the FTView main application, restore it to the laptop with Station, and modify the application pointers (HMI Server, Data Servers, etc) to point to the local machine rather then the network FT Directory structured servers.

(Of course, provided that the View Server and Station are at the same platform level (version) and patch level).
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockwell FactoryTalk View SE V4 Schema fails mcummins LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 30th, 2020 07:45 PM
Pop-Up Trending using FT View SE 5.00 specialkc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 17th, 2014 10:24 AM
Scanner and FT View SE SMOKE LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 9th, 2009 03:11 PM
RSLOGIX5000 & FT VIEW SE SLOW BOOT introl LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 May 21st, 2008 07:45 PM
Upgrade to factory talk view se kurt.brinker LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 11th, 2008 03:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 AM.


.