SLC 500/RSLogix 500 Communications

kerch

Hey Everyone,

I'm kinda new at this but here's my situation:

I have a SLC 500 (1747-L40C) in an ARPAC shrink wrapper.
We've been having issues connecting our laptop to the processor. We use RSLinx then go to the RSLogix500 program.
We use the AB_KT-2 DH-485 driver. This is the only SLC that we use that the baud rate is different. We have to change it to 9600.

Anyhow, when I got to work tonight, the tech on 2nd shift was trying to connect to the SLC.
During his attempts to connect he was plugging/unplugging the connector on the front of the SLC. he said he saw a flash at one point then the CPU light started to blink.

I read some of the threads in here so I think that the program got wiped out and everything is back to the factory defaults.
We do have the program backed up and also on a disc.

I've been trying off and on for the last 5 hours to communicate with this thing so I can load the program into it but I'm not having any success.

I'd appreciate any and all suggestions.
If I don't respond to any questions, I will tonight when I return to work.

Thanks,
John

If you are pic (or) Connect the plc directly to the processor go to online with processor (processor is with major fault) try to clear the fault

I have the unit on the bench already.
I still have no success trying to communicate or go online.
I can't establish communications with the RS Linx program to be able to launch the RSLogx 500 to be able to go online.

Kerch,

What method are you using to connect to the PLC. Sounds like you have the PCMCIA card since your driver is ABKT2. Is that assumption correct?

Marc

Marc,
Yes I'm using the PCMCIA card.
I use the following driver:

AB_KT-2,DH-485
9600 Baud
Node 1

I've tried to change the baud rate to 19.2k (only other option)
and have tried different nodes.