proportional valve control with encoder feedback

pttech

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello, I am a part-time machine builder that has recently been exposed to the world of PLC controls. I subbed out the controls for my latest project which is a fairly simple feed/cut line for steel cable. My contractor supplied a Click! PLC using discreet outputs to a PWM driver to send a voltage signal to a solenoid valve to set a slow and fast FWD and a slow REV feed. The speeds are set by settings in the driver card. I am currently at the extremely dangerous level of experience where I know how to get into the program and modify it without necessarily knowing what I am doing. My supplier is now busy with other projects and I'm on my own now. I would like to change to a 4-20ma analog output from the PLC to the driver card to allow the speeds to be set on my HMI. I am using a 10 PPR pulse generator for the length measuring input to the PLC. I would like to be able to use this for feed back to the PLC to maintain the set speed under different loads. Is this practically possible with my current PLC? Does anyone have any suggestions for a different approach?

Yes this sounds like it can be done with the Click PLC.

http://accautomation.ca/programming/plc-basics/
Click PLC Series (Automation Direct)
System Hardware – Video
Installing the Software – Video
Establish Communication – Video
Numbering System and Addressing – Video
Timers and Counters
– Counter Video
– Timer Video
Compare and Math Instructions – Video
Program Control Instructions – Video
Shift Register – Video
Drum Instruction – Video
Send and Receive Instructions – Video
AdvancedHMI Communiation – Video
Create an Analog Voltage Input Tester for a PLC – Video
Wiring Testing Analog PLC Input Click – Video
Modbus RTU Click PLC Master to BRX PLC Slave Communication – Video

Above is a series that will take you though the possibilities of the Click PLC.

Regards,