Setting Output Voltage on AB ControlLogix

bcraig

I am new to PLC's and am attempting to spec one to replace some obsolete custom hardware. One of the early problems that I have encountered is that the discrete signals that I need to provide to the "outside world" are +28VDC rather than a standard voltage.

I have been looking at documentation on several web sites and found that AB's ControlLogix Digital Output Modules supposedly will handle a 28V output, but I have no idea how to control the voltage that these modules put out. Is it a setting on the power supply?

My alternative it just to use a relay module and an independent power supply, but this would not be as "clean" a solution.

If anyone knows, please respond. Thanks.

bcraig said:
I have no idea how to control the voltage that these modules put out. Is it a setting on the power supply?

My alternative it just to use a relay module and an independent power supply, but this would not be as "clean" a solution.

You will have to supply the power via an external power supply if you use an contact output card or a transistor card. Power that drives the outputs DOES NOT come from the PLC backplane.

If I needed 5 V output, would that come from the backplane, or is are all the outputs from the output modules supplied by an external source?

You're looking at this all wrong, Craig. A discrete output isn't a device that takes power out of the PLC and sends it to the world. A discrete output is essentially a switch that the PLC opens or closes to send status information out from the control logic and turn loads on or off.

PLC discrete outputs almost always switch voltage that is supplied by a power source external to the I/O card. There are two ratings of particular significance that must be checked against the load requirements that the I/O is switching.