GE 90-30 upload/downlad on 374 cpu

evil16v

Hello, I'm a newbie here and a newbie to PLC's... other than a two day training course, I attended recently.

I have several CPU 374's that i would like to upload programs from, in several different positions, on a machine here at work. All of these programs are different. I would like to upload them all to have on file to download to a spare blank cpu kept here in house, in the event of a failure.

My GE 90-30 equipent:
5 slot rack
331 hi capacity PS
374 cpu
different positions have different modules
Proficy machine edition
laptop with serial cable through docking station.

in a nutshell here is the method:

I have opened a blank project, configured the rack, power supply and cpu. uploaded program from cpu in place. saved it.

I then go to the spare cpu in the shop, use a spare rack and PS, open the project previously saved in proficy. check the rack, cpu, and power supply, go online, clear the fault tables for good measure. I then download the program to the spare cpu. go offline. Take to machine install, and won't get a run light. Proficy shows fault stopped. I looked at fault tables and only see the battery fault. this rack doesn't use a battery. would this fault stop the controller from going into run? Is there something i need to change that didn't come with the program upload?

I would say that few, if any, racks have batteries, but most PLCs do.

Check the battery in the PLC? If it's bad, you will have no program in the PLC and will likely not go into RUN.

But, then, I could be wrong ...