Kinetix 300 + ML1100 over Ethernet

lurby

I have been tasked to upgrade a servo/AC motor system using a Kinetix 300 drive and a Powerflex 525 drive. I am going to control both of them using a Micrologix 1100 with Ethernet. The old system was a Ultra 3000 and Powerflex 40P controlled by a ML 1000. Simple system. Motor would feed forward until it hit a hard limit. Motor would rapid back until it hit a hard limit. Not too tough. Not even really a servo application anymore but it was 25 years ago when the machine was first designed so we kept it that way.

I have basic programming experience. I have gotten by for years without getting too complex. I have programmed several ML 1000's over the years but again not too complex.

I know that there is an AB simple motion control solution using a ML14oo and a Kinetix 300 floating around out there with a program all written, etc. I have downloaded this and realize that my programming skills are EXTREMELY basic.

My question is this. Is there another site or place to look to get some basic instruction on how to send and receive the MSG instructions over Ethernet? I was hoping to open up the ladder that they supplied and use the same format to write my own but I don't know if that is going to work. I am not looking for a magic wand...maybe just a dictionary.

Chuck

I'm not a huge fan of using the Micrologix series for motion control. In situations where timing can be critical (like for data collection), the explicit messaging can really kill you.

Your situation doesn't sound like a huge deal. Like you said, not even something that really calls for a servo unless the velocity is something you need to control with precision.

The examples A-B gives you (at least the ones I've looked at) are more for position control. What it seems you want to do is use the drive in velocity mode. Run it slow forward, and then fast backward after you hit a switch.