You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread November 8th, 2019, 10:41 AM   #1
jatkinson924
Member
United States

jatkinson924 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 10
1769-L18ER to Plant Network

I'm needing some help in connecting a few 1769-L18ER controllers to our plant network for remote connection to my PC. My issue is each controller has multiple devices connected to it thru Ethernet IP but I'm only needing to connect the controller to the plant network. I would like to keep the devices connected to the controller off our plant network due unnecessary traffic and limited IP addresses. What are some recommendation on this issue or products?
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 8th, 2019, 10:47 AM   #2
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,452
5069-l306er
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 8th, 2019, 10:53 AM   #3
jatkinson924
Member
United States

jatkinson924 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmargineau View Post
5069-l306er
Replacing the 1769-L18ER with the 5069-L306ER? If so, I'm not able to do that at this time. But our future builds will have a controller with Dual IP addresses.
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 8th, 2019, 10:56 AM   #4
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,238
You can look into a switch that supports NAT, like the 1783-NATR.
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 8th, 2019, 01:31 PM   #5
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,961
This is a very common use of a "Network Address Translation" (NAT) device.

These are essentially little routers that can represent your automation devices on your local automation network (like 192.168.1.x) as addresses on your enterprise network (like 10.4.1.x).

You can translate for all of the devices on the local network (called a 1:1 NAT setup) or just the CPU itself. That generally requires you to physically connect at the workcell to access non-CPU devices, or use another router or VPN technology to get to those devices.

As noted, Rockwell sells one of these that's appropriate for small workcells and also supports the DLR ring protocol, called the 1783-NATR.
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 8th, 2019, 05:17 PM   #6
janner_10
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

janner_10 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Tewkesbury
Posts: 802
Keep the PLC on the Network and NAT through to the local devices.

E WO N or AB NAT will do this easily.

Last edited by janner_10; November 8th, 2019 at 05:18 PM. Reason: Stupid **** rules
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 8th, 2019, 05:47 PM   #7
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,604
Be sure to keep the plc's away from the corporate side of the plant.
create a network that only maintenance guys can see , and the programmers.

if you don't corporate engineers and others will want the software installed on their pc's to see the system running and they will make changes to timers, counters, speeds.... without a clue as to why the values are at that value.

this also adds a firewall between the plc's and the outside world to keep hackers out. we use kerio to remote into the plant network from home to troubleshoot plc's.

james
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DH485 network issues Nole LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 14th, 2016 05:30 AM
Limiting remote access to network basleigh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 28th, 2014 09:22 AM
Ethernet radio network experiences Tark LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 19th, 2014 11:21 AM
SLC 5/04 Processors Randomly 'Disconnecting' from the DH+ network. Simon Webber LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 1st, 2010 07:41 AM
timer trigger in s7300 mostafah LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 26 July 25th, 2008 02:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


.