You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread November 17th, 2019, 12:46 PM   #1
Ivan01
Member
Croatia

Ivan01 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Vinkovci
Posts: 1
Book AS-Interface control cabinet module

Hello everyone,


can somebody please explain me what is the function of this relay. I can't understand it from their datasheet. Thanks.


https://www.ifm.com/ua/en/product/AC2258?tab=details
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 17th, 2019, 01:16 PM   #2
rkukl
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rkukl is offline
 
rkukl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA MA
Posts: 162
Appears to be a ASi bus remote I/O module. A programmable device with 4 input and 4 outputs. to determine what Outputs are programmed to do you would need to gain access to the device.
have never used one but there are some instructions on the download tab at link you provided.
Perhaps, IFM support could help lead you in the right direction?
best of luck
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 17th, 2019, 01:21 PM   #3
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 1,805
That’s the way I see it too
So somewhere on your asi network is a controller.
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 17th, 2019, 01:26 PM   #4
AustralIan
Member
Germany

AustralIan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 978
Yup. Uses the AS-Interface fieldbus on terminals A+ and A-.
Follow the wire.
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 17th, 2019, 05:29 PM   #5
jdbrandt
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jdbrandt is offline
 
jdbrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkukl View Post
Appears to be a ASi bus remote I/O module. A programmable device with 4 input and 4 outputs. to determine what Outputs are programmed to do you would need to gain access to the device.
have never used one but there are some instructions on the download tab at link you provided.
Perhaps, IFM support could help lead you in the right direction?
best of luck
The first place to start, with ANY unknown AS-I device, is to determine its network address...01A 31B. For this you will need a AS-I programmer.
Then, determine which AS-I master it is connected to.
After that, trace the master's Input/output image back to the Host that controls it.
__________________
Jeffrey D.Brandt
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 19th, 2019, 03:43 AM   #6
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 1,451
There is another way well.. possible.
There will be an ASI controller card in the PLC with a LED display, this will show faulty or missing units. If you disconnect the module but leave all others connected the ASI control card should show you the address, however if you break the loop then it will poll through the missing addresses. In all the systems I have worked on we ensured that all ASI interfaces, I/O or ASI Sensors were marked up with node address & drawings were also marked up. We would normally re-address a new unit with an ASI programmer this is simple plug in the module to the programmer, press read to get original address, then set the address to the one required (remember there are now A&B addresses so 64 in total). press write & it is configured to the Address.
On some systems, provided you only have one node in error, plugging in a ASI module/prox etc. that has an address of 0 will be configured to the address of the one that is missing (I believe this is done by putting the ASI control card into scan mode). It's been a few years since working on these so things may have moved on a bit.
ASI is a good system, however there are a few problems that can arise then faultfinding. If more than one unit is faulty (or one unit is dragging down the rest) then it will show all addresses as faulty, length of runs if near to max length can cause intermittent faults.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerFlex 525 Drives- Is the same Control Module used as a replacement for all ? Cydog LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 January 28th, 2019 10:32 AM
Powerflex 525 Control Module Snap25 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 30th, 2017 07:04 PM
Control Logix faulting a 1771-ASB module dbh6 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 November 15th, 2013 02:07 PM
Analog Input underscale brucechase LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 January 3rd, 2007 12:13 PM
SLC 5/03 data loss andydaoust LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 10th, 2002 07:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 PM.


.