diagnostics of a cylinder driven by a double solenoid valve

Bartech

Hello, I am a newbie.

congratulations for this very interesting forum!

My question:

to perform diagnostics of a cylinder controlled by single solenoid valve I can use this method:

|
|
| valve front sensor +----------------+
|----] [---------]/[--------+------| Timer |
| | +----------------+
| |
| |
| |
| |
| valve rear sensor |
|----]/[---------]/[--------+
|
|
|
|
|
| Timer Fault
|----] [--------------------( SET )
|
|

how to run diagnostics of a cylinder driven by a double solenoid valve?

What I mean is that once the cylinder has finished the forward run the solenoid is de-energized.
Now how do I know if the sensor is burnt out, or if the operator manually operates the valve and turn back the cylinder?

I had thought of using a latch bit (retentive) in this way:

| valve forward +----------------+
|-------] [------------------------| Keep |
| | OP_LATCH |
| +------| |
| | +----------------+
| |
| |
| |
| valve backward |
|-------] [-----------------+
|
|
|
|
| OP_LATCH front sensor +----------------+
|-------] [-----------]/[-------+----| Timer |
| | +----------------+
| |
| |
| |
| |
| OP_LATCH rear sensor |
|-------]/[-----------]/[-------+
|
|
|
|
|
| Timer Fault
|----] [--------------------( SET )
|
|
|
|
|

is it correct this method, or is there a more clever way?

Thanks to all

Bartech

Your first example is OK. (*).
Only, it is not good enough to have one alarm covering very different conditions. The error message will be confusing to the operator.
So you can split into two error messages by using the timer and the valve and sensor states in series. Or use two timers if there are enough timers, and the cylinder moves at different speeds in the two directions.