TV or not TV

stooperbike

Off the topic but..

I wanted to post this question for some time now and get some opinions if what I am seeing on TV is real, fantasy or just plain stupid. I have been watching the show 24 on FOX and the latest adventure for Jack Bowher is to get back a device that remotely controls every nuclear power plant in the county. The device came into the hands of terrorist and they would use this device to cause each power plant to meltdown. Understand I have no knowledge of nuclear power plants but I do know controls so my question is could something like this exist? My opinion is no, with all the different engineers and contractors involved in a large scale project there could not possible be enough continuity in the controls design for such a device. My other thought was if there was such a device and it did fall into the wrong hands there are enough controls people out there that could prevent a catastrophe like the one on the show. What rattled my chain more was the fact that the CTU computer geek was suddenly an expert on power plants and was able to re-write each plants control code and save the day (remotely). I may be looking at this wrong but the little voice inside of me is saying “don’t be so close minded”? Anyway, any opinion would be appreciated.

Its hard to say really and I offer this for thought.

This country has always been on the paranoid side concerning being attacked on its own soil..hence
The interstates were designed to be landing strips.
Waterways are under federal jurisdiction.
Energy plants are also governed and regulated by the US gov.

It has always been known/accepted that the President could initiate nuclear strikes from any location.
Is it also possible the gov/president could shutdown (not sure about meltdown) power plants if they fell into the wrong hands?