Question in programming Siemens PLC..

stevenPLC

Hi all my expert friends...I'm still new with Siemens PLC and I am using the Siemens PLC model S7-300 (CPU315-2 DP). I am facing some programming issues as follows:

1) The PID configuration - The PID action is not correct. Its action is at only one way even when the PV > SP or PV < SP. What's the most proper method to configure the PID? I'm using the FB41 CONT_C function block.

2) I need to do some program to detect actual time of 1 sec. But the Sec Timer used in program unable to detect accurately 1 sec (compare to actual time of 1 second). Any configuration or method to avoid this?

PLZ...can any of our experts help me oUT ASAP? PLZZ..
Thank you.. <"o">..

Hi,
It's hard to tell what's wrong with your PID config without possibility to have a look at it.
Regarding your second question: what do you mean by "detect actual time of 1 sec" ? Do you wanna measure duration of some signal or just generate precise pulse ?
What kind of timer do you use and how you parametrized it ?
In case of S7 timer accuracy depends on selected time base and program scan time. IEC timers are affected only by scan time as their resolution is 10 ms in S7-300.

My ladder diagram..

Yes, actually I would like to generate a 1 sec pulse, which will be used to capture some data reading every 1 sec.

If I'm not wrong (Plz correct me if I'm wrong cause I'm still new to Siemens PLC), I'm using the S5 Timer.

My ladder is as shown in the attached jpg file. Plzz have a sneak and comment. How can I configure or use what better type of timer or do anything to achieve my pupose??
Thankz..

s7_prob.jpg

Accuracy can be improved a little bit by coding the network with timer in STL. The reason is that timer is reset in next scan.
That is LAD timer call translated into STL
A M 0.1
L S5T#1S
SP T 0
A M 0.0
R T 0 <- 2) so timer will be reset in next cycle
NOP 0
NOP 0
A T 0
= M 0.0 <- 1) here status of timer is read
You could change this to something like this: