PID process control theory vs practice

Pandiani

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello, guys

I have a coulpe of questions and I hope you'll be able to help me.
I'm a student of electrical engineering and I must admit that it's
very hard for me to understand some things. I had course from
control systems where we learned software MATLAB in which we
simulate control systems and designed PID controllers.
For example if you see picture you can notice that we represent
system with it's transefer function. In theory everything works fine.
However, on the last year of study we learned something about PLC
controllers and also my teacher said that PID controller can also
be designed in STEP 7 (we didn't learn how)
My question is how to represent process (or system) in STEP 7.
I opened example with PID in Step 7 but must admit that mani thing I don't
understand.
For example in MATLAB we have transfer function 1/(s+1) and that transfer
function represent system. In STEP 7 we don't have that representation
I noticed time_lag variables and think that 1/(s+1) can be represent
by setting gain to 1 and time lag to 1 s. Now I can add FB41 for continuous
controll and set P to 1 and 0.5 (1+2/s). I hope I understand that.
I know that most people here are from practice but I hope you can help me.

Can anyone explain why PID is placed in OB35 and how process is simulated with DB100?
I know that this is tough question but I feal that I need a little to understand what is going on.
Is it possible to simulate controller on similar way like in MATLAB (to see response on the step)?

Do you know any good links where I can find explanations how to use PID with STEP7?

I hope someone here will be able to help me.
Thanks