senior project regarding PLC

dle

Hi, my name is Dan and I am currently in my final semester of college. My proposal for my senior project was to create a program that would sort and stack the blocks onto the specified pallets using PLC & the robotic arm.

The material I am using would include:

• Allen Bradley PLC (MicroLogix 1100 I think)
  • RSLogix 5
  • 3 Proximity Sensors
  • Conveyor
  • Fanuc Robotic LR Mate 200ic
The goal of this project is to create a program in the PLC that will control the data from the 3 sensors. The sensor A,B,&C are used to detect the height of the blocks. This is due to 3 types of blocks are being used for this project.

Once discerned by the PLC, the PLC will send data to the robotic arm to pick up the specific block and stack it into the specified pallet A,B, or C.
Random blocks will be placed onto the conveyor, and because of that, the robot have to place the right the block in the right place.

I have very basic knowledge about PLC and the robotic arm programming in general. My main problem would be incorporating the idea of multiple blocks and the I/O of data. Would the program for this project be way too difficult and complex? Especially for a beginner. If it is indeed very troubling to program 3 type of blocks, how much different would 1 type of block be.
Thanks and please help!

Would the program for this project be way too difficult and complex? Especially for a beginner.
No, it should be fairly easy for a college senior final project.

It will require complete knowledge of the robot, how the robot communicates with the PLC, what form of information can the robot read from the MicroLogix 1100 (you think). I would make a complete list of the brand, model, and catalog numbers for each piece of equipment, expecially the proximity sensors, the robot, the PLC, and the PLC Input and Output modules. You will need all that and a lot more to complete this project.