You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back - Interactive Q & A > - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 10th, 2011, 10:08 AM   #1
United Kingdom

tech007 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 25
Control Valve through Analog Input/Output - Beckhoff PLC


I would like to control the valve through the beckhoff PLC. The valve operating range is from 0-10 volts and i have terminal EK 1100 (EtherCAT communication terminal), EL 3162 (Analog Input terminal)and EL 4104 (Analog Output terminal).

Can you suggest me how to control the valve through analog input and output terminal ?

How to programme analog input and output terminal ?

  Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2011, 12:34 AM   #2

hitesh_nitec is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: ahmedabad
Posts: 2
You can configure Ethercat Device in Twincat System Manager,and you need to insert module EL3162, EL1404, under this module you can link the variable with PLC variable
  Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2011, 05:58 AM   #3
United States

Archie is offline
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,734
Are you new to TwinCAT or do you have a system already working that you want to add the valve control to?
Expectations lead to disappointment. Appreciation leads to satisfaction.

AdvancedHMI - Software without the license key hassles
  Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2011, 05:42 PM   #4
United States

RocketTester is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 184
I noticed this is an old post, so the OP may be long gone. Anyway, for others interested,

What is the analog input (AI) measuring?

The very simplest approach is the AI measures an operator setpoint (potentiometer) and you simply output that to the analog output (AO), perhaps with a scale factor and offset. This makes the PLC just a feed-forward amplifier. The main reason you might do this is if the AI is in a control room and the AO is far away near the valve. In that case, the link could be via ethernet, which can be miles w/ fiber-optic. That is most useful if controlling hundreds of devices. You could also replace the analog pot with a PC input (mouse or joystick).

Most people want to control valve stem position, in which case the AI measures a potentiometer (or SSI, MDT, LVDT) on the stem as a feedback signal. The Operator inputs a desired setpoint (via PC or pot). The PLC runs a PID control loop to continuously adjust the output to maintain the desired setpoint.

If the setpoint comes from another outer control loop that is trying to maintain pressure or flowrate, it is termed "cascade control". That is very common and valve stem positioners are often built into the valve, especially pnuematic valves.
  Reply With Quote
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Analog flow control billbone LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 October 27th, 2010 08:25 AM
Isolating PLC analog Inputs/Outputs cheekstar007 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 27th, 2010 06:39 AM
RS5000 PID Instruction Assistance knight1fox3 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 27 June 10th, 2010 04:41 PM
Motion control worsel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 49 January 5th, 2005 10:45 AM
PID/Micrologix1200 Discrete Out to control Valve SNK LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 14th, 2004 02:54 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.