Factory talk view ME

dakota4065

I am new to programming panel views we used to have panelbuilder 32. I have a prox set up to count the rotation on a conveyor belt. I am switching over from a photo eye. I need to set up a program to read from the prox to a long and short cell counter. Do I use a tag for the prox and setup a macro for the two cell types or is it the other way around.

Are you counting a single spot on a sprocket (RPM), or a marker on the belt (specific distance)? Also, most of my experience would be that you do the logic in the PLC and just display the pertinent information in the PanleView. What are you trying to display? A calculation of the speed, or the actual time intervals of each?

I have a long cell which will be a count of 22 and a short cell a count of 12. This will move the belt a certain distance to X-Ray large or small parts. On the panel builder 32 you set it up so when you select that program it will move the right distance and you could adjust it on the old panel view. I no longer have aces to the old program so I do not know how it was setup before.

Do you still have access to the program at all? If not, I would guess that you are planning on wiring the new photo eye in place of the prox and using the same tag as before in the PLC. If this is the case you could use the expression functions in your display to show the values you want to see, but I agree with godcixelsyd that doing this in the PLC is preferable.