MicroLogix 1400 Modbus Setup

Swhitaker

First all , I am new Here and just want to say "HI" to everyone. I am new to the Allen Bradley world but Have been around PLC programming for over 5 years. My question is the following: I have a AB micrologix 1400 series B controller. I have added the 485 module, I need to pull back some values from a instrument that is setup as a 485 slave device. I have went into the Channel 0 setup and have setup that part. Where Do I setup a modbus polling register? I am use to setting a slave address, that a start register lets say "7001" and a ending register lets say "7050". I have looked thru the forum and probably overlooked this. Any input would be helpful on this. Thanks in advance.

First all , I am new Here and just want to say "HI" to everyone. I am new to the Allen Bradley world but Have been around PLC programming for over 5 years. My question is the following: I have a AB micrologix 1400 series B controller. I have added the 485 module, I need to pull back some values from a instrument that is setup as a 485 slave device. I have went into the Channel 0 setup and have setup that part. Where Do I setup a modbus polling register? I am use to setting a slave address, that a start register lets say "7001" and a ending register lets say "7050". I have looked thru the forum and probably overlooked this. Any input would be helpful on this. Thanks in advance.

Since the Micrologix is the Master, you don't have to pre-assign its data files to Modbus locations. This is something you need to do if you set it up as a slave.

Now that the channel is set up as Modbus master, when you create a MSG instruction and pick that channel, the Modbus command codes will appear as options for message type.