Siemens Touch Panel Tag Help

GTX

Hi

I am new to the Siemens programming scene and I have been given a task of using a TP170B touch panel to control an S7-300 PLC. For software I am using Protool Lite and Step 7 Professional.

What I would like to know is how do i directly trigger an output on the PLC. more specifically how do i create a tag that will trigger output Q124.5 on the PLC.

I was also wondering how can i create a tag to toggle a bit on the touch panel ? For example, i would like to trigger a bit that would activate an output like Q124.5.

Sorry for the newbie like questions, but any help someone could provide would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Barry

Hello Barry;
Look at the "Edit Bits" functions available for most graphics objects in ProTool.
For example, set up a button; double-clik the button to see its properties, open the Functions tab. A split screen should open, showing on one side the event that you can choose to trigger the function (OnClick, OnButtonDown...) and on the other side the available function groups. In the Edit Bits group there are 3 functions that you can use for your application: Set Bit, Reset Bit and Invert Bit. Just parametrize the function with the bit address you need.
Say you wish to toggle Q124.5 with your button. In the Functions tab, select the OnClick event, Open the Edit Bits group, select Invert Bit, click on the Parameters button and write in the Q124.5 address with the selection boxes available. Click OK or Apply (very important!), save and download your program. If your comms are set-up correctly, you should be able to set abd reset your output bit with succesive clicks on the button.
Hope his helps,
Daniel Chartier

Daniel,

Thanks for your help.

I have created a dummy program in the Touch panel that has one button with the a tag called "Test".

This tag has the following parameteres, and is setup to turn on output Q124.1:
Type: BOOL
Range: Q
Q: 124
Bit: 1