ProTool Messaging and Password Setting

John-P

Hi,
I'm a beginner in Protool/Pro CS ver 6.0 SP 3 and I have a project with S7-400 PLC and TP-270-10" touch panel. I ask you to help me about:
1- I want to insert username and password confirming in the first screen, but I can't configure username and match with respected password. I know about password list and insert username and password on it, but only automatic password checking is shown respect to "Enable" setting for objects. I want to show username and password confirming in First screen window, not in seperate window.
Too, I need to have 10 username and password for 10 password levels.
2- I configure messaging, area pointer, message list and others work, but I can't interconnect it to a tag. For Example: If a tag exceeds a predetermined value, I want to a warning message should be shown on screen.
I can't check it in protool/RT, Is it necessary to connect to PLC for checking this? Its because of I'm in design progress and I don't access to hardware yet.
Thank you very much for your help.

Consider using WinCC Flexible for your application.
I have been using Protool for years now, and the Password/system is not as great as one would desire...
In my application, I use the PLC to determine username and password authenticity. It seems to work better that way, but there is a lot of coding required. I use up to 32 usernames and passwords.
Let me know if you need further help.

If you do decide to go the WinCC Flexible route, be aware that there is one big problem associated with Passwords in Flex. As default when you access the Password screen the log-on name of the last user to log on is displayed. Three false password entries will cause this user account to be disabled - permanently! If the account happened to be the Admin account, you may now have a big problem!

The subject has been discussed, so a quick search should turn up some Threads with strategies to handle the problem.