You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 8th, 2013, 09:10 AM   #1
fhervrylesestoso
Member
Philippines

fhervrylesestoso is offline
 
fhervrylesestoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Valenzuela City, NCR, Philippines
Posts: 294
Wonderware linked to Factory Talk View

Good Day Guys,

I have a little trouble in here regarding out project, I would like to give this overview for us to make things clear and somewhat simple.

Current Set up:

We have two HMIs; Factory Talk View (main HMI for read and control) and Wonderware (read data purpose only).

Factory Talk View used RS Linx to gather data (usual set-up).

Wonderware Application gather/read I/O tags from DASABCIP.4 that is connected directly from RSLOGIX5000.


Proposed Set - up

-Wonderware will Gather Data directly from Factory Talk View.
I'm not sure if this is possible, but I think the current Wonderware set up will give the same outcome.

Any suggestions?
__________________
"Nice!"
  Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2013, 10:20 AM   #2
Oakley
Member
United States

Oakley is offline
 
Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,082
Why do anything?

Have you done an assessment on the PLC controller to determine if there are any issues related to having two HMI's communicating to it?


Out of curiosity, why the two HMI's?
__________________
Artificial intelligence never overcomes natural stupidity.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2013, 10:43 AM   #3
fhervrylesestoso
Member
Philippines

fhervrylesestoso is offline
 
fhervrylesestoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Valenzuela City, NCR, Philippines
Posts: 294
Hi Sir,

Thanks for your response.

I already asked that thing. The Customer want that set-up; Another HMI for Viewing purpose only, No control to process.

For me, I think the current set-up is alright.
I'm just asking if it possible that Factory Talk will be the Source of data for Wonderware.
__________________
"Nice!"
  Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2013, 01:42 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,285
There is a software package called "FactoryTalk Gateway" that provides OPC DA 2.05 connectivity to all the data being polled by RSLinx Enterprise as well as all of the tags in a FactoryTalk View SE system.

This is different from "RSLinx Classic Gateway"; that's an older piece of software that is an ordinary OPC server.

If you are using RSLinx Classic as an OPC data server for FactoryTalk View, it makes more sense to just also use it as an OPC data server for Wonderware.

If you are using RSLinx Enterprise as the FactoryTalk Live Data server for FactoryTalk View, then the FactoryTalk Gateway software is a better option.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2013, 01:18 AM   #5
fhervrylesestoso
Member
Philippines

fhervrylesestoso is offline
 
fhervrylesestoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Valenzuela City, NCR, Philippines
Posts: 294
Sir,

Thank you for that suggestion, its a great help.

Does it mean that "Factory Talk Gateway" will act as Data Server for my Wonderware?

RsLinx will retain as Data Server for FactoryTalk?

Out of Topic Question:

-Is it possible to use RsLinx as Data Server for Wonderware?


Again, Thank you very much for the help.
__________________
"Nice!"
  Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2013, 03:39 AM   #6
RheinhardtP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Australia

RheinhardtP is offline
 
RheinhardtP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 561
Yes it is possible, i would agree with Ken , if this is the way you want to go use the OPC Gateway.

Rheinhardt
__________________
“If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?”

― Albert Einstein

www.tier16.com
  Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2013, 04:02 AM   #7
fhervrylesestoso
Member
Philippines

fhervrylesestoso is offline
 
fhervrylesestoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Valenzuela City, NCR, Philippines
Posts: 294
Thank you Sirs!
__________________
"Nice!"
  Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2013, 04:55 AM   #8
fhervrylesestoso
Member
Philippines

fhervrylesestoso is offline
 
fhervrylesestoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Valenzuela City, NCR, Philippines
Posts: 294
Do I need an OPC server?

Like,

FactoryTalk gateway => OPC server => Wonderware


Thanks.
__________________
"Nice!"
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Talk View SE can't delete project jdbrandt LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 August 3rd, 2016 04:31 AM
I Can't create a runtime in Factory Talk View ME v6.0 danielplcsnet LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 7th, 2011 07:51 AM
comm between Factory Talk view SE and WW Intouch sudip LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 May 11th, 2011 11:08 AM
How fast do the tags update in factory talk View SE sunnyvaleplc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 April 13th, 2011 07:31 PM
panelbuilder to factory talk view machine edition pssriram16 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 June 24th, 2009 03:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


.