You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 3rd, 2019, 10:15 AM   #1
usefi5961
Member
Iran

usefi5961 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: asia
Posts: 10
elau mc4 rs232 cable

dear all:
i need schematic for connecting pc to pacdrive mc4 .please share it and i need software for that .psa4 software and activation code.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2019, 07:25 AM   #2
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,818
https://www.schneider-electric.com/en/brands/elau/

I would start with the manufacturer's website. Enter your exact part number.
Regards,
__________________
Garry
https://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2019, 12:10 PM   #3
CapinWinky
Member
United States

CapinWinky is offline
 
CapinWinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 536
The serial cable should just be a standard null modem cable: https:// plcforum. uz. ua/viewtopic.php?t=16801

EDIT: PLCtalk is censoring the URL, so you have to remove the spaces after the `.` in the domain
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------
Cycling power is a sign of weakness.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2019, 12:30 PM   #4
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,418
The MC-4 is a servo drive. Do not try using a serial cable to connect to X8, won't work. That is an encoder port.

If you mean the Max-4 controller, Then yes a standard cable will work. See page 24 http://origin-faq.pro-face.com/resou...x-4_us0404.pdf for tips if that's not working.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2019, 12:39 PM   #5
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,418
As far as the software goes, That would be ELAU EPAS in whatever version your controller firmware is. You'd need to contact Schneider for that as they own ELAU now.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2019, 09:47 AM   #6
Bazook7777
Member
United States

Bazook7777 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 10
If you are in fact trying to connect to the X7 port on an MC-4, this port is only for serial download of firmware to the MC-4. If that is your intention, you can purchase the cable and software needed to do this (it is called Sercos Firmware Assistant) from your local Schneider Electric representative or distributor.

If you are trying to make your own cable, you can get the operating manual for the MC-4 here which should have the pin-outs.

http://www.orbitmotionsystems.com/wp...C-4_us0512.pdf
  Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2019, 01:52 AM   #7
usefi5961
Member
Iran

usefi5961 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: asia
Posts: 10
thank's

thank's for reply thread.
i make cable but i can not connect to mc-4 (pacdrive diagnostic and firmware assistant, i try changing baud rate,comport but i can't connect to drive,please help how can i connect to it?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2019, 08:38 AM   #8
Bazook7777
Member
United States

Bazook7777 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 10
The PacDrive Diagnostic tool is not used to connect to MC-4. Sercos Firmware Assistant is the only software tool that will connect to the MC-4. There is a setting in the the software to select serial com port communication and settings. If it is not working, it is likely a problem with cable or COM port configuration on your PC.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2019, 09:58 AM   #9
usefi5961
Member
Iran

usefi5961 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: asia
Posts: 10
i try to connect mc-4 to sercos firmware assistant but i can't connect to drive(the cable is true)i don't know why couldn't connect to it,sorry can you detail about boot loader software for mc4 via rs232 cable?how can i connect and send boot files to drive?because some times when power on the drive error led lit and when some times power on and off the error red led blink,i don't know the tms320f240 destroyed or no?can i flash it with boot loader software?
thank's
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 10:24 AM   #10
Bazook7777
Member
United States

Bazook7777 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 10
The only tool to download firmware to the MC-4 is the Sercos Firmware Assistant. There used to be an old DOS based Bootloader program, but it is long obsolete and I don't know where you would find it. It should not be needed anyway. How are you trying to use the MC-4? It is meant to be connected to a ELAU motion controller (Max-4, C200, C400, or C600). If it is not connected, it is likely the error LED will be flashing.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2019, 07:27 AM   #11
usefi5961
Member
Iran

usefi5961 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: asia
Posts: 10
mc4

dear bazook777:
thank you so much for reply,i connect direct to pacdrive mc4 via rs232 cable(without connect to max4 in lab.)and can not connect to mc4 ,i need to connect and see error code of drive and creating backup parameters and load to another drive.how can i creating backup (how to upload from and download to another).
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2019, 08:55 AM   #12
Bazook7777
Member
United States

Bazook7777 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 10
You cannot obtain an error code from the MC-4 by connecting to it through serial cable. The error codes are communicated to the Max-4 (or other Elau master controller). Then you connect to the Max-4 with the EPAS-4 software or Diagnostics tool. Further, there is no parameters or program that needs to be downloaded to a MC-4. The entire configuration is made in the EPAS-4 project and downloaded to the controller (Max-4). All of the necessary MC-4 parameters are then transferred from the controller to the MC-4 via Sercos bis connection. So there is no need to upload anything from MC-4 and download to another. If a replacement MC-4 is connected to the controller that is running the correct program, it will run.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2019, 12:47 AM   #13
usefi5961
Member
Iran

usefi5961 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: asia
Posts: 10
bootloader

thank you for reply,ok as you say only we can program tms320f240(in my mc4 i think tms320f240 is required to replacing because drive not correct boot(sometimes boot and sometimes not boot).please tell me how can i replace and reprogram it (i buy new one tms320f240 and i re solder it.but it need flash reprogram)and for doing which cable needs to connect to dsp and pc?
thank's.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2019, 08:09 AM   #14
Bazook7777
Member
United States

Bazook7777 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 10
Sorry, but I am not familiar with tms320f240. It sounds like you have opened up the MC-4 and trying to replace components on the circuit board. If this is the case then I cannot help you. It is not likely you will find support for this. If the MC-4 is to be repaired it should be sent back to the factory or authorized repair center for Schneider Electric / ELAU in your country.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2019, 01:22 AM   #15
usefi5961
Member
Iran

usefi5961 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: asia
Posts: 10
x7 socket

thank you for reply,sorry what is x7 on pacdrive mc4?it is for service port?i think it is for programming tms320f240.can you introduce me hardware engineer that experience with this?
thank's
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming cable of keyence OP26487 converter to USB Menjie16 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 January 9th, 2011 06:42 AM
RS232 Cable lenght miketrek LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 February 6th, 2010 06:52 PM
D100 Programing Cable (Cat 5 Looking) W8WCA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 December 10th, 2008 08:53 PM
Need help: Keyspan to RS232 cable to AB 5/04 Russ LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 November 12th, 2006 08:56 AM
rs232 cable memberpeace LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 22nd, 2006 07:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


.