You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 12th, 2019, 03:01 PM   #1
NestleMatt
Member
United States

NestleMatt is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: WI
Posts: 6
1747-kfc15

Can I browse from a remote network and be able to go online with the SLC500 processor where the KFC15 card is located?

Thanks,

Matt
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 05:54 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,699
Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

Yes, going online with the SLC-500 CPU is one of the purposes of the 1747-KFC15. If RSLinx can bridge to the ControlNet network, then it can bridge to the SLC controller.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2019, 06:58 AM   #3
NestleMatt
Member
United States

NestleMatt is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: WI
Posts: 6
Thanks Ken, I'll have to give it a shot.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2019, 08:40 AM   #4
Firejo
Member
United States

Firejo is offline
 
Firejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 1,176
Rockwell makes a Kentucky Fried Chicken card?
__________________
Go Hawks!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2019, 09:30 AM   #5
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,699
The -K designation for a Communications module comes from as far back as the 1771-KA, which was a Data Highway (1, not Plus) communications module for the PLC-2 front port link.

The closest functional equivalent to a DF1 to Network module is the 1770-KF2 (DF1 to DH+) box, so the SLC-500 platform DF1 to ControlNet interface got the moniker 1747-KFC, with the "15" added to distinguish ControlNet standard 1.5.

I sold and supported only a small handful of SLC-500 systems with ControlNet, but one of them still runs the busiest bascule drawbridge in the world, just a few blocks from my house.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2019, 01:38 PM   #6
NestleMatt
Member
United States

NestleMatt is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: WI
Posts: 6
Ken, I found that I did not have a rs-232 cable connecting processor and the KFC15 card. I did plug my cable in and now the RS-232 light on the processor is blinking green roughly once every three seconds. I am unable to see my processor through controlnet on rslinx. Do you think my dip switches/processor's comm settings are different?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2019, 01:50 PM   #7
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,699
Interesting that you're getting traffic on the RS-232 port at all.

I'd have to read the user manual to see what the default settings are on the module, compared to the SLC-5/03 and its default 19200 8/N/1 DF1 Full Duplex settings.

If you have an RS-232 port on a computer, I recommend configuring the RSLinx DF1 driver so you can establish (or go online to confirm) the speed and framing and protocol settings for the SLC's serial port.

Make sure that your RSLinx Classic has an EDS file registered for the 1747-KFC15, since it needs that to know that it's a communication bridge and that it can send data through it to the CPU.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2019, 08:03 AM   #8
NestleMatt
Member
United States

NestleMatt is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: WI
Posts: 6
So my messaging from rslogix 5000 to the SLC processor now works after I plugged in my cable. But can't see it in RSLinx.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2019, 09:47 AM   #9
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,699
What *can* you see in RSLinx Classic ? If you can take, crop, and attach a screenshot that would be ideal.

For modules that do network routing, RSLinx has to know that they can do network routing or it won't show the [+] icon and show the device on the remote network connection.

The 1747-KFC15 was uncommon enough that I don't remember for certain what it looked like in RSLinx and how you targeted your RSLogix 500 network path. I think that it was similar to the 1761-NET-AIC where you got a [+] icon and "drilled down" to see the SLC-500 controller by program name.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2019, 11:46 AM   #10
NestleMatt
Member
United States

NestleMatt is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: WI
Posts: 6


I am looking at the card in slot 3.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2019, 12:34 PM   #11
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,699
That's a lot of 1747-KFC15 's ! Thanks very much for posting the screenshot.

Do they all just show the Port B with nothing underneath it ?

Highlight Port B and do a manual "refresh" of the browse, and if you can, watch the Channel 0 serial port status LED.

I haven't worked with these in quite a while so I'm running out of non-general ideas.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2019, 12:46 PM   #12
NestleMatt
Member
United States

NestleMatt is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: WI
Posts: 6
Haha yes it is a lot. They were all installed before my time.
Manual refresh does nothing. Are you saying to watch Channel 0 on the processor card? If you are I will not be able to get to it until Monday.

Thanks again for all the help.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1747 SDN Devicenet Scanner Buscom LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 10th, 2014 05:41 AM
DeviceNet Network connect with 1747 SDN Buscom LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 February 3rd, 2014 04:03 AM
Allen Bradley 1747 SDN configuration via SLC503 CPU Buscom LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 November 7th, 2013 07:07 AM
Allen Bradley 1747 SN and 1747 SDN Buscom LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 3rd, 2013 04:41 AM
SLC500 5/02. 1747 PIC okay. 1747 UIC No GO Philadelphia Frank LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 19th, 2010 09:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.


.