You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 12th, 2019, 11:10 AM   #1
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,585
Rockwell Module Add-On Profile hiding ....

Pretty sure I should know the answer to this, but stumped....


I am working on an oldish Logix5000 (ControlLogix) project, version 16.


The client wants to add 1794 Flex I/O using 1794-AENTR modules, but the "New Module" dialog doesn't list it, just the AENT.


Think I might have to install the 1794-AENTR Add-On Profile, but I can't find it in the RA downloads area .....


Anyone know where it is hiding ?
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
nil illegitimi carborundem


  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 11:15 AM   #2
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,436
Ran into the same thing a while back..

From answer id 585595

"The built-in profile for the 1794-AENTR is selectable in RSLogix 5000 Version 20 and later
For earlier versions select the 1794-AENT and Disable Electronic Keying
The module functionality is transparent between the 1794-AENT and 1794-AENTR"

There isn't(or wasn't) an AOP for the AENTR.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 11:22 AM   #3
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,585
Thanks Dravik, rather thought that was the situation...


So how do you configure it then, does the redundant port automatically take the next IP address, swapping them over if the Primary port fails ?
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
nil illegitimi carborundem


  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 11:52 AM   #4
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,436
As I understand, No, these operate as DLR if you're using both ports. Only 1 IP address for the module itself.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 11:53 AM   #5
Contr_Conn
Member
United States

Contr_Conn is offline
 
Contr_Conn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,041
1794-AENTR has only one IP address.
Two ports are on the same network and usually used for DLR or daisy-chain connections.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 05:15 PM   #6
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,585
Hmm, interesting, not what I thought would be the case.



But to be on the safe side I will reserve the next IP address anyway, that way there can be no conflict whatever the ports decide to be....


Can't be any harm in doing that.
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
nil illegitimi carborundem


  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2019, 06:26 PM   #7
Contr_Conn
Member
United States

Contr_Conn is offline
 
Contr_Conn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,041
You can reserve IP address, but it will never be used with 1794.
Even modern Adapters in 5069 and 5094 platforms use only one IP address.
The only adapter that does two IPs is 1715-AENTR.

Also you may be confused about “ the redundant port” - “R” stands for Ring capabilities.
This is simply AENT with built-in two port Ethernet switch that supports DLR.
May be you need to check with your customer if they actually need AENTR and can’t live with AENT?

Last edited by Contr_Conn; June 12th, 2019 at 06:51 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2019, 08:46 AM   #8
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,441
Actually, the 1756-EN2TP, EN2TPK and EN2TPKX EtherNet/IP bridges used as Remote I/O adapters provide true network redundancy too via 2 independent Ethernet ports LAN A and LAN B.

The 'P' probably stands as an abbreviation for PRP or 'Parallel Redundancy Protocol'.

Said bridges will need to be used in conjunction with PRP capable Ethernet media/switches in order to implement networking redundancy.

Last edited by dmargineau; June 13th, 2019 at 09:03 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2019, 11:30 AM   #9
Contr_Conn
Member
United States

Contr_Conn is offline
 
Contr_Conn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,041
All EN2TP flavors still use one IP address for both ports. It just a different network topology.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add I/O module to S7-1200 Jezz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 19th, 2017 12:03 PM
Adding a module profile in RSL5000 antsrealm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 July 16th, 2013 02:48 PM
Loading SMC ex250-sen1 module profile in RSlOgix5000 ettikudiappan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 2nd, 2010 10:46 PM
AB 1746-HS module - IMC 110 motion controller raj LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 February 20th, 2009 12:36 AM
SLC 5/03 data loss andydaoust LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 10th, 2002 06:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 PM.


.