Panelview Plus 600 reading from SLC5/03 via NET-ENI story...

Jawmunji

Hi guys

Unbeknownst to you but knownst to me I have used little clues from the forum and I managed to solve my issue. Now I'm no n00b on AB gear but I've never used RSView Studio and I've never used a Panelview plus. By gee they have made it hard.

So in appreciation for your help and in case I forget and need to re-read this in a years time, here is a recap of my game play today and some layman speak for simple engineers like myself - that might make it easier for someone else :)

Setup:
* SLC5/03 out of the RS232 port using magic AB cable to a NET-ENI.
* NET-ENI connected to a network switch.
* My laptop connected to the network switch.
* A Panelview Plus 600 with built in ethernet port also connected to the network switch.

Software activities:
* Install RSlogix 500 and RSlinx. I've been using that stuff for the past maybe 10 years so nothing new there. In the past I only used serial comms. Note: a 5/03 + NET-ENI is cheaper than the 5/05 with inbuilt ethernet that is why I decided to try it. I also have future plans to use a NET-ENI for some other sites that are still 232/485. I probably will.

* Download the ENI/ENIW Utility from AB website. The newest version. Install it. I decided it was easiest to simply plug the magic NET-ENI cable directly into my laptop com port to set the unit parameters. (Why doesn't it have a web interface, sheesh!) In the IP Addr type in the IP info, set the ENI Series, mine was "D". In the Utility settings specify the com parameters (19200 is as fast as a 5/03 can go). Press the "ENI ROM" button and the new stuff goes in. Ping the IP. Too easy.