Micrologix 1400 - HMI communication

Marcosbelgo

Hello friends,
I am new with the micrologix and I am having difficulties to thinking what I need to configure to establish communication between MICROLOGIX 1400 and HMI IX-T5F-2 from the Altus. I am triyng make communication throug the channel 2 of PLC with the COMM port of HMI, that is a RS232/485 serial DB9 multiprotocol according to CH2 of PLC. I am using a serial cable DB9 male Female.

I can use any protocol to make this, I choosed the DH-485 because have less configuration parameters.

I have understood that I just have to configure CH2 of PLC on the rslogix 500, according the figure bellow. The configuration of HMI is showned too. What else have to do?

Thanks

Last edited:
On the channel status, in the project tree of rslogix, this channel dont show any work.... but the indicator of channel 2 on PLC display, it is active. In the HMI is showned ''No answer from PLC 1''.

CH.STATUS.png

How do you have it wired (cable(s)) between the PLC and the HMI.

Channel 2 on the PLC is RS232 only you would need a RS232 to RS485 converter to connect to your HMI setup for RS485.

You could use channel 0 on the PLC which does have RS485 pins and configured properly.

See manual chapter 4

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct...-p.pdf&usg=AFQjCNEnqITUpNs1q9JaYKEAOrv2ubDxnQ

Thanks Mickey,
I was using a serial cable DB9.
In the channel configuration on the RSLOGIX 500, is possible enable DH-485 for CH2. How is possible if the channel 2 is only RS232?
Now, I am trying with DF1 full duplex on the CH2. But, still dont works. Is it need do anymore configuration? Bellow, the screen configuration of RSlogix and HMI for DF1 configuration.

Thanks

dfi-ab.png dfi-hmi.png

DH485 is the protocol using a RS232 electrical spec. on channel 2, when you configure it for DH485. You would need some hardware to make it use RS485 electrical spec. to connect to a RS485 device.