Single Phase motor breakers - 1 or two poles?

TimD

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi, I am going to build a small 2-starter motor control panel. I have built three phase starter panels before, but this is my first, using 230v single phase motors.

Granted, I'm no electrician, I like a lot of programmers like 24vdc! I probably shouldn't build this, but I've done a dozen three phase panels already, and this is small, and I'll learn something...

This panel will be inspected by a licensed electrician prior to service.

I have 2 questions:
#1 Should I use double or single pole breakers to protect the motors?

#2 If my service is 230v, is there an easy way to get 110v for my controller without using a transformer?

Thanks very much!

Tim

#1 230 Volt single phase = 2 pole breaker

#2 This depends on the service, if there is a neutral (white wire) available or not. Phase to neutral should read 115 volts on your meter. Or you could just order your motor starters with 230 volt coils.

Thanks 72hdflh,

I'll ask the electrician if he is bringing the neutral wire along, then I can tap off of it inside the panel or at the disconnect.

Thanks Again

My electrician mentioned not needing a transformer. Maybe I'll get one to be safe. Looks like AD has some for under a hundred bucks including fuses, cover and clips.

I am going to use 24vdc coils for the starters. I just like doing starters that way. Dunno why, but they have never failed me.

Thanks

Tim
230 volt control is not IAW with a NFPA standard (I forget number - 79??)for machinery.

The other thing I would consider is IF you are installing this in a wet or in a washdown area use 24 volt controls. Make sure you run motor feed conductors in one conduit and control wiring in another.

Dan Bentler

Hi Dan,

Yes, I'm using 24v starter coils, always do.

I also (usually) separate control from high voltage whenever possible.

Thanks!

When connecting Line to Line you must use a breaker with a pole for each line.