PID Ramp/Soak with a SLC 500

mbr-dk

I am new to the SLC 500 platform and am hoping that someone can give me some hints on how to do PID and ramp/soak with the SLC 500 and perhaps even some sample code for a PID controlled heating application with ramp/soak :)

It is for a small hobby project where I am trying to automate my home brewing (Beer) setup. I have 3 kettles with heating elements controlled by standard SSR relays (4-32 vdc) and the temperature is measured with PT100 sensors.

One of the kettles will have two fixed set points, 54 C and 78 C, depending on where in the brewing process I am, the other kettle will have 3 set points, 52 C for 20 minutes, 62 C for 40 minutes, 72 C for 40 minutes, and it is here I need the ramp/soak PID setup. The last kettle will just be manual on/off ideally with some sort of PWMing or like to control how vigorous the boil will be.

I have the following hardware for my little project:

CPU 1747-L532 5/03 Ser E OS302 Ser C FRN 6
1746-NR4 RTD/Resistance Input Module
1746-IB16 INPUT MODULE
1746-OA16 OUTPUT MODULE
1746-OB16 OUTPUT MODULE

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Michael

...the other kettle will have 3 set points, 52 C for 20 minutes, 62 C for 40 minutes, 72 C for 40 minutes, and it is here I need the ramp/soak PID setup.
Do you want to ramp slowly from ambient to 52C, then ramp to 62, then ramp to 72? Or do you just want to go from ambient temperature to each set point in the shortest time possible?

Either is possible. You will have to use on/off control for your SSR relays, but you could use a "per cent time on" function to simulate a proportional output.

In your SLC 5/03 PLC program, the simple method would be to set up Step Relays to control each step of the process, and have a temperature setpoint for each step. You can use the Ramp (RMP) instruction to set time duration and begin and end output values. However, this obscures the action and may be harder for you than direct control using OTE outputs.