Beer temperature

Killercal

Hello all,

Ok, I am an amateur home brewer and need to control the temperature of the wort during fermentation. So I’m looking for a cheap temperature probe to connect to an Allen-Bradley 1746-IV8 card for a SLC 500 process to read the temperature and then turn on a heater when the temp falls below a set point, then turn off the heater when the wort gets to high set point. I put the fermeter in my basement, were it’s cool so I won’t have to worry about turning on a chiller….I hope!

My fermenters are a 5gal. pal and a 5gal. glass carboy.

Any ideas of what I'll need for this?

Thanks.

I am not an AB user but isnt the card a regular 8 digital input module?

If so the cheapest way would be a typical tank stat - such as you use on a domestic hw cylinder. To do what you want you may need two.

The neatest way would be a pt100 probe - RS components? - but you would need an appropriate input card.

Hi, if you want the SLC to "read" the temperature, you will need an analog input card. you could use a NT4 with a thermocouple, a NR4 with a PT100 or a 4-20mA into a NI4 card.

There are plenty of other options, such as transmitters into a 4-20mA or 0-10V card, but the above should give you the idea.

A thermostat could be connected to a digital input card, but you might as well just hook a relay to your heater and not use the SLC at all.

I have an extensive brewing setup, I dont brew beer though if you know what i mean. My process goes beyond the fermentation stage. I use thermocouples into a 1746-NT4 card and then various outputs via a OW16

cheers

I am not an AB user but isnt the card a regular 8 digital input module?

If so the cheapest way would be a typical tank stat - such as you use on a domestic hw cylinder. To do what you want you may need two.

The neatest way would be a pt100 probe - RS components? - but you would need an appropriate input card.