MODICON Concept Question

jimdi4

Do you have to add "end" statments at the end of each ladder program in Concept just like youi do in the AB RS logix programs...Im new to the modicon COncept stuff and Im trying to add my logic that i already have progrmmed in contrologix to Concept but there are a few quirks.

One quirk is the timers..For each timer I use I have to create a seperate output ..it not like RS logix where you reference the timer block TT or EN or DN bits...You need to reference the output that the timer actuates. :(

I'm going to assume that you are using the 984 LL version of hte ladder logic, and not the IEC version. I am also going to assume that you mean each page when you talk about "each ladder program". The answer then is No, you don't need an "end" statement.

Actually, if you are taliking about the IEC version of ladder logic, the answer is still no.

Clarification

To clear up a little confusion I apparently created, I should point out that Concept is a programming package that supports several IEC compatible languages. One of these is Ladder Logic. It also supports another version of ladder logic that is compatible with the old 984 PLC product line. By getting the correct flavor of executive firmware you can use either version of ladder logic programming in several different PLCs, including the Quantum and Momentum among others.

The operation of the timers in either version is different from the Allen Bradley timers that you are used to. You really really need to read the manual closely to get the operation of the type of timer in the ladder logic version you are using, as it is confusing and non-intuitive. You do have to use a coil on the output of the timer, and use that coil's contacts in lieu of the "Done Bit" that is foind on most PLCs.

Another thing that is a pain with the IEC timers and an operator interface is you may have to convert the timer preset from an integer to time format. Go to the manuals for ddetails.