You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 13th, 2013, 07:32 AM   #1
kashifidrees
Member
Pakistan

kashifidrees is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sadiqabad
Posts: 5
Smile crimson redlion g3 data tag scaling

Dear Sir,

A modbus register of device to be communicated with red lion g3 contains data such that when the data is read than it should be scaled by deviding it with a constant .... how this deviding of data tag can be done with crimson 3.0 ????

thanks and best regards
  Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2013, 09:48 AM   #2
JHarbin
Member
United States

JHarbin is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by kashifidrees View Post
Dear Sir,

A modbus register of device to be communicated with red lion g3 contains data such that when the data is read than it should be scaled by deviding it with a constant .... how this deviding of data tag can be done with crimson 3.0 ????

thanks and best regards
There are Various Ways, but the easiest is to Create a Numeric Tag and use Data Scaling on the Data Tab.

For instance if the input is 0 to 1000 (as an Integer) but the actual range is 0 to 100.0 you can choose Scale to Floating Point. You would set the Data From: field to 0 and the Data To: field to 1000 then set the Display From: to 0 and the Display To: to 100.0.

There are several other ways to do this but this is the easiest.

This way works with values that are Read/Write also (pretty cool). I have had applications that needed to be displayed in F but the device was in F so my Data From: was 0 and my Data To: was 100. Then my Display From: was 32.0 and my Display To: was 212.0. Since it was a setpoint, I could enter the value in F on the display and it would be re-converted to C automatically before it was sent to the Modbus device.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2013, 04:50 AM   #3
kashifidrees
Member
Pakistan

kashifidrees is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sadiqabad
Posts: 5
Thankyou for your prompt reply ... i guess this 'ld help in sloving the problem... the case is that i want to read a modbus register from protective relay on modbus 485 netwrok... the value in the register i want to read is motors current. This value must be divided by 16000 to get the actual current. now i 'll set domain from 0 to (150.0 x 16000) beacuse maximum value of current is 150 amps. and range from 0 to 150.0 amp by selection scaling to floating point
  Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2013, 06:58 AM   #4
JHarbin
Member
United States

JHarbin is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by kashifidrees View Post
Thankyou for your prompt reply ... i guess this 'ld help in sloving the problem... the case is that i want to read a modbus register from protective relay on modbus 485 netwrok... the value in the register i want to read is motors current. This value must be divided by 16000 to get the actual current. now i 'll set domain from 0 to (150.0 x 16000) beacuse maximum value of current is 150 amps. and range from 0 to 150.0 amp by selection scaling to floating point
If the Span value is 16000 * 150 then it must not be an Integer Word so it is either a Floating Point or a Long Integer.

You don't have to Scale to a Floating Point, you can Scale to Integer, but I like to have values to the right of the decimal point in this range (typically anything under 1000.0).

If you agree, then you should set your Scaling to Scale to Integer

Data From: 0
Data To: 2400000
Display From: 0.0
Display To: 150.0
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real-Time tag data in email through RSLogix 5000 plc.ucd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 7th, 2016 05:03 AM
My turn for a Crimson question - embedding tag in string. TConnolly LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 6th, 2013 01:22 PM
Crimson V 3.0 Data logger access from IP ceilingwalker LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 April 30th, 2013 08:05 PM
Sending PLC tag info from Red Lion Data Station / Crimson 3 sccoupe LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 6th, 2011 08:55 AM
MPI comunication Manuel Raposo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 July 16th, 2007 06:24 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


.