Kinetix 5500 Winding using Torque Control?

misterturbo

Hi All,

Was hoping someone would be able to offer some pointers on a setup I am working on.

I am well versed in PLC programming however I have had limited experience in working with Servo control applications. By limited I mean the only experience I have had was recently attending a supplier 1 hour in house lab on these devices.

Basically I am trying to create a winding system using 2 Kinetix 5500 drives (2198-H-003-ERS) with 2 Kinetix VPL Motors (VPL-A0631E)

The plan is to use a master/slave setup with the drives, with the master feeding the material at a constant speed and the slave following at the same speed. (note There is a reason why this way was chosen rather than just winding with a motor in the center core)

A free spinning roller where the media will wind around will sit between the master and slave rollers and pressure applied to a sled to keep all three devices together.

My question is, the slave will run at the same speed as the master but will need to adjust due to difference in radius of the media at its end. Is there a way to run the slave (torque control?) so that it adjusts according to a defined torque entry?

yes there is
what is the material - steel, paper, tissue or foil or something else

There are other posts here about winder control

Can we have a picture of the setup?
Your start position with roll sizes and your finish position with roll sizes
I cannot determine if the unwind (master) is centre or edge unwind
From your description the rewind is centre driven

There are a number of ways to do this.

Peter Nachtwey is the best once we have the details

Thank you for your reply! To answer your question,the material is hollow fiber membrane, so basically a sheet of flexible fiber 1/16" in thickness with different dimensions but typically one such could be 40 x 40".