Further my Education What to do

Hartness

Hello, I have a question on furthering my education and what you guys think would prepare me for the future in automation. I have a 2yr diploma in mechatronics and have really been getting into plc programming, networking, and HMI. The thing is i am just a maintenance mechanic and very young. I am having trouble getting a job where i can breathe this stuff in and out. I would like to go back to school and then work for a packaging machine builder someday. Any input is much apreciated.

I too started in maintenance.

I too was very hungry to learn automation.

The local community college taught very basic plc knowledge, not enough to feed my hunger so I purchased a used AB Micrologix 1000 and played with it endless hours in the basement.

I read everything I could read, including threads on this forum.

They gave me a simple plc project at work and it turned out pretty good, I was doing maintenance 90% of the time and programming/wiring panels 10% of the time.

Eventually I became good enough to get a job with an oem as their plc programmer.

It did not happen overnight, but with a lot of work and study it did happen.

Hartness,