You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 11th, 2007, 09:40 AM   #1
russrmartin
Member
United States

russrmartin is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eastman, Wisconsin
Posts: 744
Output PC time to PLC for time sync

Hey guys, do any of you know if I can and how to send the date and time from iFIX to a PLC for time stamping? Basically, if we download a new program etc, we'd like to have the 5000 write values to correct the date and time right away to sync it with iFIX again, but are not sure how to get the PC time into iIFIX so it can be written to the PLC. Thanks.

Russ
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2007, 09:50 AM   #2
PeterW
Member
Canada

PeterW is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 2,522
GSV to read and SSV to write.

WALLCLOCKTIME object.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2007, 09:56 AM   #3
russrmartin
Member
United States

russrmartin is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eastman, Wisconsin
Posts: 744
Please read the post

Peter,

Thanks for the post, but the issue is not reading or writing the PLC, it's getting the value from the PC to write? Do you know how to do this within iFIX.

Russ
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2007, 10:55 AM   #4
Oakley
Member
United States

Oakley is offline
 
Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,082
How about sending a time sync bit at the same time every day to the PLC. Then in the PLC set the wallclock.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2007, 02:37 PM   #5
mgvol
Member
United States

mgvol is offline
 
mgvol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 746
Look in your RSLogix5000 Tools folder. There should be a Logix 5000 clock update tool; you can run this as a service and it will synchronize the Logix CPU clock with the PC clock. Note: you do have to use RSLinx to configure the path to the CPU.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2007, 05:07 PM   #6
SLC_Integrator
Member
United States

SLC_Integrator is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 415
Clock update tool works really well. It only needs an UNLICENSED copy of Linx to work though. Its available as a free download from the Rockwell website.

It will run in the background and synch all the PLCs on the network as often as you like. I used it on a CLX network where they wanted accurate time stamps for billing and inventory. I synch once a day and it stays pretty much within 1 second.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2007, 05:16 PM   #7
russrmartin
Member
United States

russrmartin is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eastman, Wisconsin
Posts: 744
still unclear

Thanks guys, but I'm still a little unclear. Does this tool sit on the iFIX box and write to the PLC? (That's how it sounds) Or is this something that is configured in the 5000 project?
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2007, 06:15 PM   #8
SLC_Integrator
Member
United States

SLC_Integrator is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 415
Its just a little standalone utility program that installs on the iFix box and runs in the background, a bit like linx.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2016, 02:01 PM   #9
menotis
Member
United States

menotis is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: florida
Posts: 1
Hi russrmartin, you dont need anything of that,if you want to get or send the date when you press a button(right click on the button->edit script

Private Sub CommandButton1_click()

Write System.CurrentDayDate,"DayVar"

'DayVar is your variable in the database when you want to save the value'
'in this case of the day, could be hour ,minutes month etc'
'copy and paste this code and should work'

End Sub
  Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2016, 03:13 PM   #10
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by menotis View Post
Hi russrmartin, you dont need anything of that,if you want to get or send the date when you press a button(right click on the button->edit script

Private Sub CommandButton1_click()

Write System.CurrentDayDate,"DayVar"

'DayVar is your variable in the database when you want to save the value'
'in this case of the day, could be hour ,minutes month etc'
'copy and paste this code and should work'

End Sub

Welcome to forum

Hopefully OP getted it work allmost 9 years ago
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PlC Output problem.. rusureboutdat LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 31st, 2006 09:23 AM
first time with a PLC snaggletto LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 May 24th, 2006 07:40 AM
Mitsubishi MELSEC Q ethernet questions Picho LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 October 21st, 2005 09:09 PM
Siemens PLC 1st scan Coil and Time.. stevenPLC LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 10th, 2005 06:06 AM
Simulator, Simulation, Shadow Code Terry Woods LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 2nd, 2005 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


.