Automation Direct DL05 problem

david bron

D
This is my first attempt at plc programming and I am having a lot of problems. I would sure appreciate it if some one could look at my attatche ladder and tell me where the problem is.When loaded into the PLC I dont get past the first output Y3 working.

Please help

David we would be glad too but you forgot to make the attachment. If you are having problems posting the file(s) you can send them to me in an email, [email protected] and I will make it available AND look at it. With the DL plc you have to put all the associated files in a zip then attach the zip file. There will be several files associated with a project. Look in the DirectSoft32 folder for projects then find all files with your project name, add them to a zip file using WinZip or similar then attach here.

We will be waiting. BTW since you are going to be using/working with plcs then signup as a member, its free and the gains are enormous.

Last edited:
correct information

here is the zip file for my first post allong with my correct name sorry I had been at this program for 20 hours and was not thinking clearly

Dave Brown

The first thing that I see is that you never tell the program to move past sg2. You need to instruct the program to go to sg3 sometime.

Also with the SP1 contact,Y3 will always be on even if the stage 2 is not .

I have never have any luck at Automation Direct stage programming. Why not just try ladder.

I need Y3 to stay on .That is my IN CYCLE lamp and also moves my fixture into position.Also I believe I jump to STAGE S3 on the next line. I have been looking at this program for several days now and may be missing something very simple

1. Except for an Initial Stage (ISG) no stage turns on unless it is the object of a JMP or a SET command. A JMP command has the added effect of turning off the stage it is in. You can use the SET command if you wish to start another stage but keep the current one still active.