Factory Talk Devious Programming or Higher Level?

JeremyAdair

I have 5 years of experience as a contactor troubleshooting many flavors of HMI and PLC code. I am now working at a plant and we have this one machine that was outsourced to a company and the logic uses all kind of weird nick nack tricks that make it very difficult to follow for anyone outside engineering.

Anyways here is my question. I have an HMI with a Piloted List Selector. Inside the connections are tags {#1} for value and tag {#2} for enter. I recognize the pound sign as using a parameter file. I can not run the screen using the play button to figure out where it is tied to or what it is doing because when I hit play it asks me to use a parameter file and there are 100s in the HMI program.

Next I go to the States tab of the list. I was actually able to figure out the connection here as this is what are in each state.
state 1 is 1: /*S:0 {[PLC1]ModelData[1].DrawingNumber}*/ /*S:0 {[PLC1]ModelData[1].AspiratorAssyNumber}*/ /*S:0 {[PLC1]ModelData[1].WheelDrive}*/WD

state 2 is 2: /*S:0 {[PLC1]ModelData[2].DrawingNumber}*/ /*S:0 {[PLC1]ModelData[2].AspiratorAssyNumber}*/ /*S:0 {[PLC1]ModelData[2].WheelDrive}*/WD

state 3 is 3: /*S:0 {[PLC1]ModelData[3].DrawingNumber}*/ /*S:0 {[PLC1]ModelData[3].AspiratorAssyNumber}*/ /*S:0 {[PLC1]ModelData[3].WheelDrive}*/WD

I recognized this right away as a user defined datatype in the plc and away I went to the issue at hand and solved it.

I am having two problems.

1) How do I figure out which parameter file is linked to a screen.
2) why would you put a tag in the states section and what the heck is this programmer doing.

1) You find what button or object is calling up a display to see what parameter file it is using. There will probably be multiple ones, as it is a bit pointless to use a display exclusively for one parameter file.