Allen Bradley programming support

Hi Friends.
I am just learning ladder programming for Micrologix 1400 and after a deep search I could not a block to calculate RPM through proximity input. I tried arithmatics but I got stuck at 1 point that when I try to divide 60000 by a duration between 2 pulses to calculate RPM then my result overflows even my destination is float type and thereby PLC goes in fault mode. Can somebody help me out in this?
Or I shall be highly obliged if somebody sends me sample program for RPM.
Regards
Sandeep R. Mittal
[email protected]

Last edited:
1. Measure proximity pulses over some time period (for example, maybe 2 seconds).
2. Divide Revolutions per 2 seconds by 2 to get Revolutions per Second.
3. Multiply by 60 seconds/minute to get Revolutions per Minute.

3A. An alternative (if your measuring time period is 2 seconds) is to simply multiply proximity counts by 30 to get RPM.

Post your code, or at least describe your code step-by-step so others can see what you are trying to do.
All supporters,
Pls see,
calculating pulses for 2 sec or 5 sec or 10 sec is not going to work if I want prepare a logic for 5 to 500 RPM range. So what I have done i tell you. Mr. Glenn specially for you as you have asked for my steps.
1. I calculate the duration between 2 pulses. For exmple duration measured is 6 Sec. My timer base is 0.01 so my accumulated integer value comes as 600.
2. Now I divide 6000 (which is an integer constant) by this duration (which is 600 measured in step 1)
3. This should give me result as 10. This means 10 RPM.
4. Now the problem is as soon as I run my program and start giving pulses, PLC goes in fault mode.
5. I checked the error, it says result of that division block over flows.
6. I tried with result data type as integer and float both. But nothing worked. How can i avoid this fault.
7. If this is solved, then my logic will be working.
Thanks all of you.
Sandeep R. Mittal