RSLogix 5000 and RIO Fundamentals.

antsrealm

Hi,

I'm new to the RIO component of rslogix 5000 and was looking for some help understanding how it works and where the messaging comes into it if at all.

I have a project on at the moment that consists of the following :-

Control logix rack:-

1756-L61
1756-ENBT
1756-DHRIO
1756-DHRIO

PLC5 Remote IO rack attached to one of the 1756-DHRIO cards above:-

it has 15 cards in it and uses a 1771-ASB card to link with the 1756-DHRIO.

Of the 15 IO cards they are mainly digital in and out and a couple of analog cards in and out.

Now my objective is to upgrade this control panel including completely replacing the panel and full re-wire. The remote rack will be replaced with a control logix remote rack and cards. Now the guys I am doing this project for thought they could purchase a second 1756-DHRIO card and link two of them together and use the new control logix rack in the same way as the PLC5 rack. As it turns out from my research these cards are both scanners and would not work together. So... I am thinking the best thing to do is put a 1756-enbt in the remote rack and add it as ethernet remote IO. Can someone confirm if this is the best way to go here ??

Now the next part of my dilemma is identifying everything in the code that is related to the old PLC 5 remote IO addressing and changing it to suit the ethernet remote rack that is now control logix hardware.

As I am not to familiar with remote IO and the messaging components can someone steer me in the right direction to understand how the PLC5 remote rack is being addressed in the control logix processor at the moment.