You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 13th, 2021, 10:25 AM   #1
arvind_g
Member
India

arvind_g is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Delhi
Posts: 4
Dataman 8700 and Micro800 communication

Hello all..
I am presently working with a Cognex Dataman dm8700dx-e (ethernet) scanner and need to make it communicate (read data from) with a AB Micro850 Plc. Have spent couple of days looking for a way to read scanned data from the scanner into the PLC; but no success yet. Please share any information / thoughts / insights if this can be done and how to if it is possible.
I could get the same scanner work with compactlogix pretty easily but am stuck with the Micro 850 and CCW.
Any help is much appreciated and thanks in advance for the same.
Arvind G
  Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2021, 12:07 PM   #2
drbitboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

drbitboy is offline
 
drbitboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 3,867
Can you share the logix 5000 code, including as a PDF?
__________________
i) Take care of the bits, and the bytes will take care of themselves.
ii) There is no software problem that cannot be solved with another layer of indirection.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2021, 01:33 AM   #3
arvind_g
Member
India

arvind_g is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Delhi
Posts: 4
drbitboy,
There is nothing to post for logix5000, I just added it as an Ethernet module to the io configuration and it's working with the compactlogix after little tweaks in the dataman software. Is it that I will need to use CIP generic / symbolic messaging in CCW to make it talk with Micro 850 ?
Thanks,
Arvind G
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2021, 09:38 AM   #4
pturmel
Member
United States

pturmel is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 102
Try using messaging to the Assembly objects' buffers. CIP Get/Set Attribute Single. Class 4, Instance==assembly #, Attribute 3.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2021, 11:00 AM   #5
arvind_g
Member
India

arvind_g is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Delhi
Posts: 4
Pturmel,
can you please elaborate a little more , I need a little more guidance as I have not done the messaging before.
Sorry for my incompetence.
Thanks,
ArvindG
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2021, 03:25 PM   #6
pturmel
Member
United States

pturmel is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 102
Hi ArvindG,


Take a look at this draft:


https://www.automation-pros.com/plct...rvind_g.ccwarc


It assumes the Dataman input assembly is #100, and output assembly is #150. Adjust the local variables as you need.


I haven't had to use any Micro8xx devices yet, so the above is completely untested and certainly incomplete. (You'll at least want a timer to pace the messaging.)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2021, 01:36 AM   #7
arvind_g
Member
India

arvind_g is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Delhi
Posts: 4
pturmel,
thanks for the pointers, I will certainly look into the CCW project and post my findings.
Thanks again,
ArvindG
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.


.