Motor Control Course Questions.

tim_callinan

I'm an instructor of mechatronics at a 2 year community college. I really appreciate the advice I've received from this group over the years. We're starting a electric motor control course - this is be our students first introduction to motors and controlling them. We've been told by our industry advisory board to definitely pay attention to VFDs and three phase motors - this is no problem for us.
One of our adjuncts and a lot of our graduates are working for Amazon or amazon subcontractors. I've been getting a little feedback saying a lot of their equipment is starting to be powered by DC motors and servos which is news to me. Obviously 24v is safer. Ive also been sniffing around the internet and found these lads. Check about 4 mins into the video. I thought it was pretty impressive.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_SYhCRwacDs&t=484s
My plan was to spend most of the time on AC motor controls but how deep into DC motors should I be getting. Any imput/feedback is defo appreciated.
Tim

Last edited:
I've mostly been seeing DC motors on low power conveyors. I could see why Amazon would use them. But in general, most everything else I deal with is 3-phase.

It would be best to ask specific questions because I could write a book.
DC motors are simple to control.
AC motors are usually used on applications with higher mass or inertia. They present more of a challenge.
I can't imagine a 2 year college getting that deep.
I have NEVER had a class on motors, yet I can model and auto tune them and control them with precision. They aren't that difficult. For a 2 year college I would place more emphasis on getting hands on.

I would place more emphasis on sizing and wiring. If this is done correctly the rest is easy.

the link it just to sell you their motor
there are in fact many motors that meat that type of operation
most motors in use today are 3 Phase motors along with other consideations cheep to build and have a long life