AB SLC-500 Beginner Questions

2k1Toaster

I inherited this aging system and have been asked to migrate it to a new machine. I have no prior experience with the SLC-500 or anything like it, I usually make my own hardware for these sorts of projects.

Right now there are a bunch of valves connected to the main unit and a computer running Windows NT 4.0 talks to the SLC-500 over ethernet.

I am pretty sure I can talk to this thing because I can read and write registers with my new software over ethernet and I can read back the new value I just wrote. However, nothing happens.

Digging deeper it appears this thing is trying to be smart and it actually runs a program? Digging into the NT4.0 machine, I found some files that I have seen mentioned around here, namely an RSS file. I also have an OIS and PPS file if that means anything to anyone.

I also just learned that it needs to be in program mode to accept the new writes, and then run mode to actually do something. However I can't seem to make it do anything. It gladly accepts all my writes with no errors or exceptions and then just sits there mocking me.

Do you have to "program" these everytime power is applied? I thought it had some NVM in it, so as long as the main program is in there, I should never have to write it again. Can it get corrupted? How do I take an RSS file and write it to the SLC-500? Can it be parsed into "write value X into register Y" but thousands of times for the entire file?

What software do I need to be able to read this RSS file? Or can someone parse it for me into something like a text file so I can import it into my program and write it back to the SLC-500?

I am lost because I don't know how this thing is currently working and there is 0 documentation. I had assumed I could just write a register to a value and the valve would turn, but this is much more complex. Any input is appreciated, Thanks.