You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 17th, 2011, 08:42 PM   #1
BinderNut
Member
United States

BinderNut is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 32
Question Clearing out an AB 1747-M11 EEPROM module

Does anyone know a quick way to clear a 1747-M11 EEPROM module? We've got one at the plant that either has a corrupt program in it or the chip itself is corrupt.

The machine sat unused and powered down for about a year, so the PLC battery was dead the the processor memory was blank.
The problem we've got is that on power-up the EEPROM writes a bad communications config when it loads and we can't configure RSLinx to communicate with the processor.

Installed in a 5/03, the module automatically writes the saved program to the processor even though the status bits for the memory module in the program are set to 0 (S:5/8, S:5/9, S:1/10-12, etc).
We normally run with S:1/12=1 so the EEPROM is used as backup in case the processor memory get porked, but this machine has never had that change made yet.

We've replaced the EEPROM with a new one and all is well, but we'd like to salvage this one for use in our training stand if we can clear the program to see if just it or the whole module is bad.

Thanks!
Mike in ND
  Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2011, 09:53 PM   #2
jrwb4gbm
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

jrwb4gbm is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 2,227
See this old thread, posts 16 and 18, maybe it will help. If that doesn't work, maybe Ron Beaufort will jump in with a better solution.
Link:
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthr...747-m11&page=2
  Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2011, 10:01 PM   #3
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,132
Create a blank program or test program and write that to the memory module in question. Then test the outcome.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf StoreToEEPROM.pdf (37.4 KB, 69 views)
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb

Last edited by Mickey; March 17th, 2011 at 10:07 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2011, 01:37 AM   #4
BinderNut
Member
United States

BinderNut is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
Create a blank program or test program and write that to the memory module in question. Then test the outcome.
Had a little time to play with this on our test rack (a 5/05) tonight. Same results as on the 5/03 out on the machine that we're recommisioning.

I can "DEFAULT" the processor just fine with the EEPROM module removed. But, whenever I plug that module into the processor, it messes up the comm config as soon as it boots up, even with a valid program in the processor's memory that has all the memoery module status bit set to 0. After booting with the EEPROM installed I can't get online with the processor anymore. RSLinx won't autoconfigure and I've gone through all the DF1 combos trying to find the one that works.
I kinda suspect that the module is toast and it's not just a corrupt program that's messing up the communication settings.


This is just something to do between line calls...hoping we can salvage more parts for our training rig. It's not a big deal, just a head-scratcher that I've never encountered before. I don't post often but I've been lurking and absorbing info for several years now. Great place to find answers!

Thanks for the replies!
  Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2011, 01:46 AM   #5
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,132
Can you connect to your SLC5/05's ethernet port? If so you can try writing to the EEPROM then.
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2011, 05:24 AM   #6
BinderNut
Member
United States

BinderNut is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 32
Follow-up:
The solution was so simple it should have bit me on the nose.

I was overlooking the power of the keyswitch...my previous attempts were with it in the REMOTE position.
I powered it up with the keyswitch on the 5/05 test processor in PROGRAM. The memory module tried to load the botched 5/03 program and promptly faulted the processor. With it faulted and the keyswitch in PROGRAM I was able to configure RS232 comms to the processor. After that it was easy to upload and burn an empty program to the module. Viola, one memory module salvaged.

Thanks for the assistance!
  Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2011, 01:23 PM   #7
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by BinderNut View Post
Follow-up:
The solution was so simple it should have bit me on the nose.

I was overlooking the power of the keyswitch...my previous attempts were with it in the REMOTE position.
I powered it up with the keyswitch on the 5/05 test processor in PROGRAM. The memory module tried to load the botched 5/03 program and promptly faulted the processor. With it faulted and the keyswitch in PROGRAM I was able to configure RS232 comms to the processor. After that it was easy to upload and burn an empty program to the module. Viola, one memory module salvaged.

Thanks for the assistance!
Thanks for coming back with your solution. I would not have thought of that ( might have stumbled on to it). It will surely help others in the future.
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting Data via AB Eweb 1756 Module mrmarbles LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 11th, 2009 01:58 PM
AB ANALOGE MODULE 1746-NIO4V PERSPOLIS LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 December 26th, 2002 12:57 AM
AB 1770-KFD module Alan Case LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 1st, 2002 02:35 AM
AB 1746-NIO4V ANALOG MODULE PERSPOLIS LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 23rd, 2002 03:59 AM
AB Analog Input Module Wiring... Eric Nelson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 6th, 2002 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


.