Logic of Standby pump

Shabbir

I am new at the plc programming and want a logic of two pumps, they start on auto and manual and if one pump fails the other pump starts.

Thanks

Originally posted by Shabbir ...if one pump fails the other pump starts.QUOTE]

That's it Shabbir. You've told us the answer wright there!

Wether in Auto mode or Man mode, something act as a Star signal.

You have to direct this signal to one pump OR the other...

You have to figure out in the same way, with your own words, what make this sytem determine that a pump does not start.

Overload?, Montion sensor? Pressure or flow switch?

Then you switch pumps with this signal and you keep it there.

During this thincking, you have to play a game of What if...

What if both pumps fail?... before they start, after a switch,, etc...
What if I want to alternate pumps every day or every 100 hours?
What if my sensor fail?
What if on is in Àuto and the other in Man mode?
What if it's only not primed and it take longer to get a reading?
What if I switch mode during operation?

Re: Re: Logic of Standby pump

Pierre said:
Originally posted by Shabbir ...if one pump fails the other pump starts.QUOTE]

Thank you Pierre. You have started me thinking. At the moment i would to make following logic:

1. Manually any pump can be started
2. if the p#1 trips, p#2 will start if it is on Auto
3. if one pump is running and demand increase other p#2 will start
4. I want to alternate pumps every day or every 100 hours?

Thanks

Aziz...

BE THE COMPUTER!

Put yourself, mentally, in a dark room with nothing more than a Stop-watch, a pencil and paper, a few lights indicating status on the outside world, and a few switches for you to operate.

YOU are the computer! How would you respond to what you see?

Think very carefully and pay attention to every detail!

DO NOT ACT ON WHAT YOU THINK YOU KNOW!!!

ACT ONLY ON WHAT YOU SEE!!!

Last edited: