You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread September 15th, 2019, 09:35 PM   #1
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,948
Powerflex 525 configuration with Logix Designer

Hi all,

I have a project coming up with about 25 powerflex 525's on a DLR network. Processor is a 1756-L82ES. In the past, I would have used CCW to set up all the VSD parameters and download to them, and as a "backup" of all drive parameters. With the new versions of Logix, it looks as if Rockwell are intending to migrate that functionality into Logix Designer more than previously.

Using Logix Designer v32, is it a straightforward process to set up and download drive parameters to all my drives? As compared to how straightforward it is using CCW? Anyone got hands on experience/tips to share?
  Reply With Quote
Unread September 16th, 2019, 06:58 AM   #2
FactoryTalktotheHand
Member
United States

FactoryTalktotheHand is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 512
You can do all the Drive Parameters in Studio 5000. After you add the drive, right-click, then Properties and one of the tabs is for upload/download/parameter settings. No need to bother with CCW. The beauty is you store all the drive parameters in the Studio 5000 project. Plus, if you turn ADC on, the parameters are automatically downloaded to that IP address if they don't match.
  Reply With Quote
Unread September 16th, 2019, 07:11 AM   #3
alan_505
Member
Australia

alan_505 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne,Victoria,Australia
Posts: 596
Just make sure you don't turn on the ADC until you have everything setup.

Alan.
  Reply With Quote
Unread September 16th, 2019, 11:40 AM   #4
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan_505 View Post
Just make sure you don't turn on the ADC until you have everything setup.

Alan.
And afterward, if you DO tweak a drive, remember to update it to the PLC. Otherwise when someone cycles power, it reverts to the previous settings.

There is no move toward Studio 5000, it’s an either/or situation between Studio 5000 and CCW. The user interface screens and functionality are the same. So as mentioned if you have Studio 5000, you don’t need CCW. This was one of the things that changed between RSLogix 5000 and Studio 5000; in the old system you needed another program (Drives Explorer or Executive) for programming the drives. Now you do not. Conversely you can think of CCW as a drives programming tool for those who don’t have access Studio 5000.
  Reply With Quote
Unread September 16th, 2019, 11:50 AM   #5
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,221
As others mentioned, it can be done from Logix Designer, though I wouldn't exactly call it straightforward. There are little quirks, I'll give you my workflow that seems to work:

-Set all of our drive IP addresses in the DLR card
-Download your project with all of the drives inhibited
-Go Offline
-Open the first drive, download the parameters to the drive
-(the drive properties is completely different in the newer version so I can't give specifics on the tabs and clicks)
-Repeat with each drive
-Re-download the project after you have loaded all of the parameters with the drives "un-inhibited".

Having the drives inhibited during the download of the parameters will prevent the occasional connection failures. Being offline will speed the whole process up. Properties open faster when offline.
  Reply With Quote
Unread September 17th, 2019, 01:40 AM   #6
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,948
Thanks all, and especially Dustin for the additional workflow tips! Sounds like it'll be easier to do it all in Logix.

Not sure if I'll use ADC or not, because I'm not confident the people who will inherit this system will appreciate the "magically" changing parameters the first time they decide to tweak something. I think I probably will, because I'm even less confident in their ability to restore the parameters after replacing a drive
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerFlex 525 Opening Parameter remii LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 20th, 2017 10:00 AM
Save VFD Parameters in Studio 5000 Logix Designer aiki202 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 October 2nd, 2017 06:28 AM
PowerFlex 525 Multi-Drive control on EtherNet/IP GraemeTownsend LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 24th, 2017 09:38 PM
Logix Designer - Failed to Create Module Profile Popo Karimu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 23 June 1st, 2016 08:11 AM
Micrologix 1400 to Powerflex 525 over ethernet pauljm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 May 11th, 2015 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


.